Did They Get it Right? – Best Picture – Oscars 1945


dtgirbp-1945Here are the five nominees: (Winner in Bold)

Anchors Aweigh
The Bell’s of St. Mary’s
The Lost Weekend
Mildred Pierce
Spellbound

Biggest Snub:

The Picture of Dorian Grey

My Overall Thoughts:

Of the three nominees that I’ve seen, I must say that this year was a pretty weak one for nominees.  The Lost Weekend is the best of this crop tho, so of the choices they had, I believe they made the right one.

My Rankings:

Movies

(As of now, I have seen each and every Oscar nominated film from 1946 thru the present.  Starting with 1945’s nominees, there are movies that I have yet to see, so I will only rank the films that I’ve seen so far and will update as I see the missing films.)

  • 5. – The Bells of St. Mary (Not Seen Yet)
  • 4. – Mildred Pierce (Not Seen Yet)

 

  • 3. – Anchors Aweigh – Interesting film that has a super thin plot but is fun because of the jokes and music.  Kelly and Sinatra are great together.  Typical musical that was able to win an Oscar for it’s score.  Choreography of the dance number is nice to watch, but again, there isn’t much story here.  Not sold that this is Best Picture worthy, but based on when it came out, I can understand how it could have been considered that way back then.
  • 2. – Spellbound – Bergman and Peck are both great here, but the best character is by far Dr. Brulov played by Michael Chekhov who is written so well. Love the idea that someone with amnesia trying to decipher what he did and who he is while be chased by the authorities.  Hitchcock keeps the suspense going throughout and you don’t really know what’s gonna happen as it moves along.
  • 1. – The Lost Weekend – Truly a movie ahead of it’s time since the subject matter wasn’t truly a topic people discussed in public at the time. A bit slow, but great performances all around help make it so thrilling to watch.

Do I agree with the Oscar winner? – Yes! TLW is the best film nominated this year despite it not being an amazing film mainly because it dealt with a subject no one really discussed in those days.

Let me know what you think about these films and my rankings!

Let me Know what you think!!

