89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #72 – Anchors Aweigh (1945)


movierob-oscars1

In my attempt to have a more prolific repertoire of Oscar Nominated Films, I have taken it upon myself to watch 89 new Best Picture Nominees that I’ve never seen before between 1 Dec 2016 and The 89th Annual Oscars on 26 Feb 2017.

Here is my 72nd review of the 89 chosen Films…


anchors“Look at me, I’m dancing. ” – Jerry Mouse

Number of Times Seen – 1 (8 Feb 2017)

Brief Synopsis – Two sailors on leave for the weekend in Hollywood try to find love and fun before they ship out again.

My Take on it – Most people (like me) have seen clips from this film and the most famous is obviously Gene Kelly’s dance routine with Jerry the Mouse (from Tom & Jerry fame).

I was happy to finally see this film in full in order to try and see what the story was that it revolved around.

Truth is, this film has a very thin story line that it solely there in order to give the musical dances and songs a reason to appear.

The film is somewhat fun to watch because the music and jokes work quite well.

The casting of gene Kelly and Frank Sinatra together works really well because they are both great singers and dancers (they were ok actors too) 🙂

This film won an Oscar for Best Musical score which isn’t too surprising because it was made just for that purpose.

The choreography of the dance numbers is superbly done and they are quite fun to watch.

I’m still a bit in shock that this film was nominated for Best Picture that year because although the singing and dancing is quite good, the story is paper thin.

I guess the fact that the war was just ending when this was made was good enough reason for the Academy members to give this film a chance at the big award.

Bottom Line – Interesting film that has a super thin plot but is fun because of the jokes and music.  Kelly and Sinatra are great together.  Typical musical that was able to win an Oscar for it’s score.  Choreography of the dance number is nice to watch, but again, there isn’t much story here.  Not sold that this is Best Picture worthy, but based on when it came out, I can understand how it could have been considered that way back then.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – George Stoll won the Academy Award for Best Scoring of a Musical Picture for his work on the film. Stoll died in 1985 and his Oscar was part of an estate sale in 2001. It was secretly purchased by Kevin Spacey for $156, 875 who then returned it to the Academy. (From IMDB)

Rating – BAFTA Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

5 thoughts on “89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #72 – Anchors Aweigh (1945)

  1. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  2. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Picture – Oscars 1945 |

Let me Know what you think!!

