89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #78 – Goodbye Mr. Chips (1939)


movierob-oscars1

In my attempt to have a more prolific repertoire of Oscar Nominated Films, I have taken it upon myself to watch 89 new Best Picture Nominees that I’ve never seen before between 1 Dec 2016 and The 89th Annual Oscars on 26 Feb 2017.

Here is my 78th review of the 89 chosen Films…


goodbyemrchips

“Give a boy a sense of humor and a sense of proportion and he’ll stand up to anything.” – Mr. Chips

Number of Times Seen – 15 (1 Feb 2017)

Brief Synopsis – As he nears the end of his life, a teacher reflects on his many years in the profession.

My Take on it – I am quite surprised that I never saw this film because the premise is one that I knew I would adore.

I have always enjoyed films like this where they reflect on how a teacher is able to impact his students over the years.

Robert Donat is superb here as the main character and really deserved his Best Actor Award for this role because it is such an emotional and poignant one.

It’s quite easy to see how this film has inspired many other films that show a character look back on his/her own life trying to find meaning in their lives and in their effect on their multitude of students over the years.

This is clearly one of the best films made about a teacher’s life and they do it so well that despite the film spanning so many years, you don’t feel for a second that it drags or rushes through everything, the pacing of the entire story is perfectly chosen.

It’s too bad this film was up against Gone With The Wind (1939) and Mr. Smith Goes to Washington (1939), because it didn’t have a chance at Best Picture that year, but at least Donat was able to win Best Actor against such powerhouses like Clark Gable and Jimmy Stewart.

Bottom Line – Donat is superb here and really deserved his Best Actor award for playing the title character. This film has inspired so many others ever since in the way they tell a life story in the right way.  Still remains one of the best films about the life and rewards of teaching. Highly Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – 34-year-old Robert Donat ages 63 years (1870-1933) over the course of the film. He remarked: “As soon as I put the mustache on, I felt the part, even if I did look like a great Airedale come out of a puddle.”  (From IMDB)

Rating – Oscar Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

2 thoughts on “89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #78 – Goodbye Mr. Chips (1939)

  1. Pingback: MovieRob Monthly Roundup – February 2017 |

  2. Pingback: Oscar Best Acting Winners |

Let me Know what you think!!

