The White Helmets (2016)


white-helmets“Better to rescue a soul than to take one.” – Mohammed Farah

Number of Times Seen – 1 (19 Feb 2017)

Brief Synopsis – Documentary about former tradesmen who have volunteered to become rescue workers in war-torn Syria despite the dangers.

My Take on it – I only heard of and watched this film because it was nominated for an Oscar for Best Documentary, Short Subject.

Unfortunately, I didn’t find the film to be as powerful as one would expect from this kind of premise.

The film is filled with interviews by the rescuers and the problem I had with them was that they didn’t feel as genuine and spontaneous as interviews should be in a Documentary and instead felt completely scripted.

The one thing they get right is the war footage because it is quite captivating to watch.

This will be one of those films that will always baffle me as to how it got nominated for an Oscar.

Bottom Line – Not as powerful as I would have expected it to be.  The interviews with the different rescuers feels too scripted instead of spontaneous like it should.  The war footage is quite captivating to watch.  I’m not really sure how this got nominated for an Oscar tho.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – The twenty-third Netflix original documentary. (From IMDB)

Rating – BAFTA Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

One thought on “The White Helmets (2016)

  1. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2016 |

Let me Know what you think!!

