89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #83- The Thin Man (1934)


movierob-oscars1

In my attempt to have a more prolific repertoire of Oscar Nominated Films, I have taken it upon myself to watch 89 new Best Picture Nominees that I’ve never seen before between 1 Dec 2016 and The 89th Annual Oscars on 26 Feb 2017.

Here is my 83rd review of the 89 chosen Films…


thin-man“Waiter, will you serve the nuts? I mean, will you serve the guests the nuts? ” – Nora Charles

Number of Times Seen – 1 (20 Feb 2017)

Brief Synopsis – A former detective and his wife investigate the disappearance of a former friend.

My Take on it – This is a film series that I had heard of in the past, but had no real clue as to what it was all about, let alone that it was nominated for Best Picture.

I was pleasantly surprised as to how much fun this film was.

William Powell and Myrna Loy are amazing together because they have such amazing chemistry.

Their clever banter makes this so much fun to watch mainly because the puns were spot on the whole way along.

The balance the comedy and mystery very well and they are able to do an amazing job keeping us guessing the whole way through as to who did what and why.

The way that the mystery is slowly revealed to us also works extremely well.

This film is apparently the first of a series and I’m now especially interested in seeing these characters (still played by Powell and Loy) again in future stories.

I hope the rest are as great as this one was!

Bottom Line – Powell and Loy are great together and their banter makes this film so much fun.  The mystery is done quite well and they do an amazing job keeping us guessing the whole way through. Highly Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – When Lieutenant Guild asks Nick if he has ever heard of the Sullivan Act, he is referring to 1911 gun control law in New York State. Nora responds that “it’s alright, we’re married,” no doubt referencing the 1910 Mann Act, the United States federal law that prohibits transporting women for “immoral purpose” across state lines. Both laws are still in effect as of 2016. (From IMDB)

Rating – Oscar Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

One thought on “89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #83- The Thin Man (1934)

  1. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Picture – Oscars 1934 |

Let me Know what you think!!

