Did They Get it Right? – Best Picture – Oscars 1933


dtgirbp-1933Here are the ten nominees: (Winner in Bold)

42nd Street
Cavalcade
A Farewell To Arms
I Am a Fugitive From a Chain Gang
Lady For A Day
Little Women
The Private Life of Henry VIII
She Done Him Wrong
Smilin’ Through
The State Fair

Biggest Snub:

Duck Soup

My Overall Thoughts:

I’m still in shock that of the nominees this year, Cavalcade was chosen as the Best Picture among the bunch.

The story could have been presented much better and it rushes through the story too quickly.

My Rankings:

Movies

(As of now, I have seen each and every Oscar nominated film from 1946 thru the present.  Starting with 1945’s nominees, there are movies that I have yet to see, so I will only rank the films that I’ve seen so far and will update as I see the missing films.)

  • 10.- Lady For A Day
  • 9.- Little Women
  • 8.- She Done Him Wrong
  • 7.- Smilin’ Through
  • 6.- The State Fair

 

  • 5. – Cavalcade – I am in shock that this movie won Best picture since it is so bad.  I didn’t much care for the characters that much and the acting was too over the top (granted it’s 1933 acting). The ONLY think nice I can say about this movie was that it seems to be the precursor for epic movies that span many years of its characters. Many great movies since follow that idea and this at least gave us a glimpse into what the future of movies had in store.
  • 4. – 42nd Street – Has some great choreography and songs, but the story feels quite simple.  Loved the way they used so much innuendo for a classic film.  Goes to show that is doesn’t seem as if much has changed behind the scenes in the 80 years since this came out. Great dialogue.
  • 3. – A Farewell To Arms – Great love story, but it feels a bit too short and rushed.  It’s easy to believe the chemistry of the characters and both Hayes and Cooper are great here.
  • 2. – The Private Life of Henry VIII – Laughton is what makes this movie worth watching.  He does a spectacular job as the King and he gives such a powerful performance and was definitely deserving of winning Best Actor for this role.  The story itself seems quite tame for the biopics that now are made because the censors wouldn’t let so much through and this was a story which really needs to be able to defy the censors.
  • 1. – I Am a Fugitive From a Chain Gang – Amazing film that was one of the first social commentary films that was able to bring change just by disclosing the horrors of the chain gang penal system. Muni is amazing in this film and despite being made in 1932, this film is done so well.

Do I agree with the Oscar winner? – Not At All! Any of the other nominees would have been a better choice than Cavalcade.

Let me know what you think about these films and my rankings!

Let me Know what you think!!

