Moana (2016)


uk_moana_mgp_payoff_n_2724685d“If you wear a dress and have an animal sidekick, you’re a princess. ” – Maui

Number of Times Seen – 1 (16 Feb 2017)

Brief Synopsis – A young Polynesian princess seeks to try and break a spell with the help of a mystical demigod

My Take on it – I have always been a huge fan of Disney animated films, but this one was quite a disappointment for me.

The music is great (as always) and even nearly a week after watching this film, I constantly think of the songs and hum the tune.

The problem here tho is the story itself, it just isn’t as interesting as it could be and there are too many places where it drags instead of uplifts like Disney usually does for us.

I think this film would have been even better had it been shortened a tad.

I know that there will be many who disagree with me, but Moana is not gonna be one of the Duisney Prinecesses who will remain popular for years to come because she, like the story here isn’t as memorable as one would hope for from Disney.

MY two favorites songs from this film are We Know The Way and How far I’ll Go.

Check out the videos below:

We Know The Way

How far I’ll Go

 

Bottom Line – Great music, but the story is somewhat lacking.  IMHO, doesn’t live up to the standards of Disney animation.  Parts weren’t as fun and uplifting as they could have been and I think the film could’ve been even better if it had been shortened a bit.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Dwayne Johnson is a firm believer that voice-acting is the most difficult career in acting, and is personally annoyed by celebrities being cast in animated films despite their bad delivery in voicing their characters. When Johnson was cast for the film, he repeatedly asked the other voice-actors present if he was indeed giving a good performance. (From IMDB)

Rating – BAFTA Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

2 thoughts on “Moana (2016)

Let me Know what you think!!

