The Lost Patrol (1934)


poster-lost-patrol-the_01“Yeah, I know what you’re thinkin’. Perhaps I’ve done everything wrong! Perhaps this and perhaps that! But what I’ve done I’ve done, and what I haven’t, I haven’t! ” – The Sergeant

Number of Times Seen – 1 (19 Feb 2017)

Brief Synopsis – A group of British soldiers get lost in the desert and must find a way to stay alive when the local Arab militia begin to shoot at them.

My Take on it – I had heard about this film years ago and was happy to finally be able to see it.

John Ford was an amazing director and did a wonderful job here  developing this situation for the characters.

Each soldier has a diverse personality that is developed well and we learn so much of them during their ordeal.

The conversations between the different men help tell us so much about them as they try to find a way out of their predicament all the while bonding even more in their quest for freedom.

The fact that most of the film tales place on a minimalist set helps because the intimacy makes us care even more about each and every man.

Bottom Line – Ford does a great job developing characters in a harrowing situation.  Each character has a diverse personality and their conversations are quite interesting to follow as they bond while trying to survive. The minimalist set works quite well in this situation. Recommended

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Victor McLaglen actually served with the Irish Fusiliers in Mesopotamia (modern-day Iraq) during World War I at the same time this story takes place. He eventually rose to be Provost Marshal–equivalent of Police Chief–of Baghdad.  (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

Let me Know what you think!!

