Genre Guesstimation – Damn the Defiant! (1962)


The idea behind this feature (Genre Guesstimation) is for me to watch a bunch of new movies (or ones that I haven’t seen many times) from the chosen monthly GG genre in order to expand my knowledge of movies within that particular genre.

Next month’s Genre has been chosen by Sean of SeanMunger.com  We will be reviewing our favorite Nautical Films.

Loosely defined as anything taking place in, on or under the sea or heavily involving the sea.

Representative examples might include stuff like Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World, Mutiny on the Bounty, The Hunt For Red October, The Enemy Below, Damn the Defiant!, Cast Away, that sort of thing.

Please get me your submissions by the 25th of Feb by sending them to nauticalsean@movierob.net

Try to think out of the box! Great choice Sean!

Let’s see if I felt that this movie would be worthy of being in the company of my others favorite movies in the genre of Nautical Films…

damn-the-defiant

“Ship’s company ready to witness punishment, sir.” – Lieut. Scott-Padget

Number of Times Seen – 1 (20 Feb 2017)

Brief Synopsis – The Captain of a British warship and First Officer clash on how to run the ship and its crew which leads to much infighting aboard ship.

My Take on it – I decided that in order to make my guest choices of the Genre for the Genre Grandeur series more personal (and expand my own personal horizons of these genres), I will take a recommendation from my guest for a film to watch for this Genre Guesstimation series.

This film was Sean’s choice for me to watch.

I had never even heard of this film before and that surprised me a lot due to the great cast.

Alec Guinness, Anthony Quayle and Dirk Bogarde are all great here.

The themes discussed here are great ones because they are ones that are somewhat timeless when dealing with comrades in battle.

It shows how imperative it is that commanders work together to get things done instead of against one another (especially in front of the crew).

It’s nice that we get to see the back and forth between the different sides of the arguments because it gives us the unique privilege as observers to see that it isn’t always so simple making decisions in situations like these.

Bottom Line – Excellent cast helps raise up the themes explored in this film to be even more poignant.  Shows how important it is to work together as a team instead of against one another.  The back and forth between the different sides worked well and even as just an observer it’s sometimes hard to choose which is the right side of each argument. Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Alec Guinness made this movie during the two month break in the shooting of Lawrence of Arabia (1962), when the production moved from Jordan to Spain. Upon finishing this film, Guinness resumed his role of Prince Faisal. (From IMDB)

Genre Grandeur Worthy? – Not really, even though it does come pretty close.

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

3 thoughts on “Genre Guesstimation – Damn the Defiant! (1962)

  1. Pingback: Genre Grandeur February Finale – Cast Away (2000) – SeanMunger.com |

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1962 |

  3. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

Let me Know what you think!!

