Did They Get it Right? – Best Picture – Oscars 1928


dtgirbp-1928Here are the three nominees: (Winner in Bold)

7th Heaven
The Racket
Wings

Biggest Snub:

Sunrise

My Overall Thoughts:

For the inaugural year of the Oscars, only 3 films were in the running for Best Picture.  Compared to toady, the two I’ve seen are nothing great, but nearly 90 years ago, things were quite different since this was such a new medium.

My Rankings:

Movies

(As of now, I have seen each and every Oscar nominated film from 1946 thru the present.  Starting with 1945’s nominees, there are movies that I have yet to see, so I will only rank the films that I’ve seen so far and will update as I see the missing films.)

  • 3. – The Racket

 

  • 2. – 7th Heaven – Film about faith, perseverance and hop in the most desperate of situations that works despite being a silent film.  Has some great themes that are thoroughly explored here.
  • 1. – Wings – Nicely done (anti) war movie especially given that it was made in 1927.

Do I agree with the Oscar winner? – Yes.  For its time, Wings was definitely a great film.

Let me know what you think about these films and my rankings!

Let me Know what you think!!

