The Man Who Broke 1,000 Chains (1987)


1000-chains“I fought for you! ” – Robert Elliott Burns

Number of Times Seen – 2 (Cable in the 80’s and 26 Feb 2017)

Brief Synopsis – True story of a WWI veteran who escaped a Georgia Chain Gang twice and changed the way the system worked.

My Take on it – This is a film that I recall seeing on cable back in the 80’s when it was one of the first HBO Original films.

Despite not seeing it in years, the story always stuck in my mind and when I recently saw the Oscar nominated film from 1932, I am a Fugitive of a Chain Gang (1932), I was reminded that I should give this film another look.

They doi a fine job here telling the story of a man who’s life work (by default) was helping reform a broken system since he was able to expose the wrongdoings both in a book and eventually a film.

The fact that veterans even 100 years ago were still treated with disdain upon their return from war is no surprise, but it shows that things still need work if even something like that hasn’t been changed at all.

Val Kilmer is great in the lead role and I think he got the role at the perfect time in his career because he wasn’t as well known back then and allowed the story to be told while he still looked unfamiliar.

Bottom Line – Nice biopic of a man who helped reform a broken part of the system by exposing it. Kilmer is great in the title role and was cast at the perfect time of his career.  Goes to show that veterans have always been treated with disdain after returning from war and that it’s about time things should be changed there too.  Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Nominated for 8 CableAce Awards but only managed to win 1 for Lighting Direction / Direction of Photography (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

One thought on “The Man Who Broke 1,000 Chains (1987)

  1. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1987 |

Let me Know what you think!!

