Movies From the Hat V #2 – Dan’s Pick – The Voices (2014)


This is my 2951st Review

Thanks to Dan of Slipthrough Movies for this recommendation.

Here are his thoughts on the film.

“Wish I could help you Jerry… uuh, but I’m just a fish. ” – Fish

Number of Times Seen – 1 (14 Mar 2017)

Brief Synopsis – A lonely man who has conversations with his pets begins to see life differently when he develops a crush on a new co-worker.

My Take on it – I have always been a fan of Ryan Reynold’s work and when Dan suggested I see this, I was quite intrigued by the premise.

Unfortunately, the film goes to very dark comedy territory and despite starting off well, it lost my interest about a third of the way through because of where it takes things.

The only good thing about this film IMHO is Reynolds himself who plays the lead character really well and also does a great job with the voices of the inanimate objects and pets that speak to him.

Unfortunately, the performance and the voices get old too quickly and things just don’t really go in a likeable direction.

I’m sure that there are plenty of people who will enjoy the kind of humor portrayed here, but I’m unfortunately not one of them.

Bottom Line – This film was just too crazy for me.  I like dark comedies in general, but this takes things too extreme IMHO. Reynolds is the only good thing in this film but even that begins to wear thin partway through.  The way Reynolds does the various voices is fun to listen to, but I didn’t find this film interesting at all.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Director Marjane Satrapi was initially going to hire voice actors for the animals’ voices, however Ryan Reynolds convinced her that he should do them as they are voices that his character hears in his head, and therefore should be different variations of his voice. He convinced her by sending her recordings of his voice, tailored specifically for each of the animals. (From IMDB)

Rating – Razzie Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

2 thoughts on “Movies From the Hat V #2 – Dan’s Pick – The Voices (2014)

  1. You’re a brave man, Rob 😉 Hehehe. So, Voices isn’t everyone’s strange brew cup of tea, but at least you might it out to the other side.

    I thought it was a groovy hidden gem with tons of black comedy. I remember hearing about from the Black List (best unproduced scripts in Hollywood), and was waiting for it ever since. My own hype may have rubbed off 😉 The script is bold though. The screenwriter Tweeted me out at the time based on my review. Thanks for linking to that review too, buddy. I hope my next weird recommendation goes down a bit more smoothly 😉

    Like

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2014 |

Let me Know what you think!!

