Movies From the Hat V #15 – Emma’s Pick – Overboard (1987)


This is my 2964th Review

Thanks to Emma of EmmaKWall.com for this recommendation.

 

[on TV] … If any of you know the identity of this woman, please contact the hospital. I’ll put up the reward myself… She’s drivin’ us crazy.” – Doctor at Hospital

Number of Times Seen – at least 5 times (cable in the 80’s, 9 Feb 2009 and 19 Mar 2017)

Brief Synopsis – After falling off her yacht and getting amnesia, a stuck up millionaire becomes the wife of a hard working widower who is seeking payback for money that she owes him.

My Take on it – I was quite happy when this film was suggested to me because it’s been so long since I saw it and always thought it was an average film and wanted to see if my opinion would change.

It actually is much more fun than I recalled and I chuckled so many times along the way.

This film works so well mainly due to the chemistry between Kurt Russell and Goldie Hawn despite their characters being totally opposites of one another.

The story itself is a typical 80’s kind of premise that works due to the ironic nature of it all.

There are some themes here that might actually offend some people nowadays, so I’m not sure that everyone would agree with me here on this.

It’s the kind of film that only could have been made in the 80’s and is perfect for that decade.

The supporting cast is fun to watch and Edward Hermann, Katherine Hellmond, Mike Hagerty and Roddy McDowell are all quite entertaining.

Hector Elizondo has a funny cameo, so watch out for him to pop up.

I was also surprised to see Ray Combs (yes, the comedian turned Family Feud host after Dawson) show up in a small yet funny role.

Bottom Line – This film works so well mainly due to the amazing chemistry between Hawn and Russell. The story itself is quite ironically done yet due to some of its themes it might actually turn away some viewers. Perfect film to be set in the 80’s and I’m not sure they could’ve gotten away with making this in any other decade. Much more fun than I recalled. Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – The scenes of the character of Joey Proffitt talking in Pee-Wee Herman’s voice were improvised as the Pee-Wee voice was not part of the original script. (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

4 thoughts on “Movies From the Hat V #15 – Emma’s Pick – Overboard (1987)

  1. Glad you enjoyed the re-watch Rob! This is a favourite from my childhood and reading your review makes me want to watch it again soon! It’s a feel good film and agree the chemistry is rightfully good between Russell and Hawn 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1987 |

Let me Know what you think!!

