Movies From the Hat V #18 – Abbi’s Pick – Anvil: The Story of Anvil (2008)


This is my 2967th Review

Thanks to Abbi of AbbiOsbiton for this recommendation.

Here are her thoughts on the film.

“I can answer that in one word… two words… three words: we haven’t got good management.” – Robb Reiner – Drummer, Anvil

Number of Times Seen – 1 (20 Mar 2017)

Brief Synopsis – Documentary about how two members of a heavy metal music band from the 1980’s perpetually try to still get discovered and find the fame the have always dreamed of achieving.

My Take on it – This is definitely NOT a film I would have seen had Abbi not recommended it to me since I’m not a fan of Heavy Metal.

My first instinct when Abbi suggested is was to say no because I didn’t think there would be any chance that I’d enjoy it.

I’m very glad that Abbi persisted and convinced me to still give it a shot.

This is a documentary about two people but it really resonates is so many ways as a lesson for the rest of us to understand that the pursuit of a dream should never be halted.

If there is something inside of us that makes us want to gravitate towards fulfilling some kind of dream, we must pursue it because almost nothing is unachievable if you keep persisting.

I was completely engrossed in this story because it is one about real people who despite falling down so many times over the years, keep picking themselves up in order to reach their ultimate goal.

The bond between these two men is especially strong and they help each other out constantly in order to continue on in life.

They are great examples of inspiring individuals who keep at it no matter the cost.

Bottom Line – Great documentary that proves that it’s possible to always try and seek out your dreams.  Despite not being a ‘metal’ fan, I was completely engrossed in the story of these two men who even after 25+ years never gave up on their dream no matter the cost.  The bond that these two men have together is so inspiring to watch onscreen since after so many disappointments over the years, they still remain true to one another to the end. Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Director Sacha Gervasi was once a roadie for Anvil. (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

4 thoughts on “Movies From the Hat V #18 – Abbi’s Pick – Anvil: The Story of Anvil (2008)

  1. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2008 |

Let me Know what you think!!

