Movies From the Hat V #23 – Eric’s Pick – The Final Girls (2015)


This is my 2972nd Review

Thanks to Eric of The IPC for this recommendation.

Here are his thoughts on the film.

“Ever since I was a little boy, I’ve dreamed of being the final girl. ” – Duncan

Number of Times Seen – 1 (21 Mar 2017)

Brief Synopsis – A group of horror move fans somehow get stuck in one of their favorite movies and must try to stop the rampaging killer in order to get safely back home.

My Take on it – As many of you know, I’m a not a fan of horror movies in the least and avoid watching them.

My good friend Eric is a HUGE fan of horror and chose to give me this film as his recommendation because of the way that they parody it all.

As a kid of the 80’s, I have seen my fair share of 80’s horror films and this movie shows us how teens of today would act if they were somehow sucked into the world of an 80’s horror movie.

The fact that this movie does a great parody of how that genre of films works makes this so much fun to watch… even for someone like me who doesn’t usually enjoy horror films.

They do a wonderful job making fun of much of the stereotype and staple “rules” of 80’s horrors and it’s quite entertaining to see them pointed out as opposed to just watching them occur.

I really liked the movie within a movie aspect and it makes us look at 80’s horror films from both perspectives.

Many aspects of the film reminded me of Scream (1996) which also does a wonderful job of parodying the horror genre of the 80’s.

I guess Eric knows me better than I know myself.

Bottom Line – Despite being about horror movies, I thoroughly enjoyed this film.  They do an amazing job parodying the 80’s Horror genre and we get a sense that they really know so much about how the plotlines work.  The movie within a movie is fun to watch unfold especially when they show us the “rules” of it all. This is such a fun idea for a film, yet also gives us enough sentiment to make it worth while.  Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – The film was conceived and co-written by Joshua John Miller as a way of dealing with the death of his dad, Jason Miller, who had starred as Father Karras in The Exorcist (1973). (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

4 thoughts on “Movies From the Hat V #23 – Eric’s Pick – The Final Girls (2015)

  1. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2015 |

Let me Know what you think!!

