Movies From the Hat V #26 – Mutant’s Pick – The Neon Demon (2016)


This is my 2975th Review

(NO) Thanks to Mutant of Cinema Parrot Disco for this recommendation. 🙂

Here are her thoughts on the film.

“You know what my mother used to call me? Dangerous. “You’re a dangerous girl”. She was right. I am dangerous.” – Jesse

Number of Times Seen – 1 (22 Mar 2017)

Brief Synopsis – An aspiring model moves to LA and gets involved in a social group of successful models who want what she has.

My Take on it – So, I used to have a sneaking suspicion that Mutant hated me and now I’m sure of it.

This movie was horrendous!

I was extremely bored for the entire running time and had it not been for my rule about watching a movie the whole way through once I star it, it would have been turned off within 5 minutes or so.

I was a fan of Drive (2011) and knew better than to even go into Only God Forgives (2013) territory, but Mutant managed to dupe me into watching this piece of trash despite the fact the she herself hated it and only gave it a 2/10

I personally believe that that rating was quite generous for a film this crazy and I can’t recall hated a movie s much in the past few months (maybe The Emigrants (1971) or Cries & Whispers (1972) were close)

Even a few days after having watched this, I can honestly say that I really have little to no clue what it was all about and truthfully don’t even care.

This is another example of a film with a crazy plot that prefers to rely more on symbolism than on an understandable storyline.

My friend Eric of The IPC wrote a review of this film that really sums up how terrible it is.

Check out his thoughts here.

Bottom Line – Absolutely hated this film. Still not 100% sure what it was all about because it was truly all over the map. Wanted this film to end within 5 minutes because it was soooo boring.  Guess this is another film where one must have a better understanding of symbolism instead of a straight story.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – The second film by Nicolas Winding Refn to premiere at the Cannes Film Festival that received booing and cheering after the press showing. The first film was Only God Forgives (2013). (From IMDB)

Rating – Razzie Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

7 thoughts on “Movies From the Hat V #26 – Mutant’s Pick – The Neon Demon (2016)

  1. Very divisive film. It made a lot of critics Top 10 lists for the year. Unusually, I fell in the middle. I really like Refn. Loved Drive. Valhalla/Pushers were good. Bronson was really good. But Only God Forgives and this were middle-of-the-road ‘meh’ for me…. and I dig on the nerdy over-stylized symbolism. 😉 I hope Refn attaches himself to something the audience can attach themselves to next time.

    Like

  2. Pingback: MovieRob Monthly Roundup – March 2017 |

  3. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2016 |

Let me Know what you think!!

