Movies From the Hat V #48 – Verns’s Pick – Waking Life (2001)


This is my 2997th Review

Thanks to Vern of Vern’s Video Vortex for this recommendation.

“The worst mistake that you can make is to think you’re alive when really you’re asleep in life’s waiting room.” – Guy

Number of Times Seen – 1 (28 Mar 2017)

Brief Synopsis – A man has deep philosophical discussion while in a dreamlike state.

My Take on it – This was a really crazy film to watch.

I’m not much into watching (or even discussing) philosophical debates and this film is full of them.

Most of the conversations are really complex and I just didn’t find them really interesting to listen to.

The animation is nice to watch here because of the process used to animate the live action shots, but overall, the story just isn’t interesting enough.

Director Richard Linklater always makes great choices for his cast and knows how to utilize them quite well, but that still doesn’t do much to help the viewer since the story is so “out there”.

This is a film that probably would have been much more interesting for me had I chose to watch it while on heavy drugs, but since I don’t partake, I guess, I’ll never find a way to enjoy this one.

Bottom Line – Waaaay too philosophical for me.  I think that the use of animation works well here, but the story itself isn’t as interesting to a layman like me.  Linklater utilizes a great cast, but it doesn’t really do much to keep the viewer interested throughout.  Perhaps this would be much more interesting if I was also tripping while watching it.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – This movie was based on real reports of LSD trips  (From IMDB)

Rating –  Razzie Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

4 thoughts on “Movies From the Hat V #48 – Verns’s Pick – Waking Life (2001)

  1. Pingback: Movies From the Hat V #48 – Verns’s Pick – Waking Life (2001) | The Vern's Video Vortex.

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2001 |

Let me Know what you think!!

