Here’s Jack Blogathon – The King of Marvin Gardens (1972)


This is the second of two reviews for Gill of RealWeegieMidget’s Hey Jack Blogathon.

Thanks for letting me take part Gill!


“You notice how it’s Monopoly out there? Remember Boardwalk, Park Place, Marvin Gardens? ” – Jason

Number of Times Seen – 1 (23 Apr 2017)

Brief Synopsis – An introvert Talk show host must travel to Atlantic City to bail his con man brother out of jail and is convinced to stay for a while which exposes him to the kind of lifestyle his brother lives there.

My Take on it – This is yet another film that I had trouble understanding the point of.

Jack Nicholson goes against his usually known casting and is the quiet character instead of the extrovert that he usually plays.

This low-key role for him was interesting to watch because he got to play a role that is basically the sole introvert of the cast.

The rest of the cast is pretty good here with Bruce Dern, Ellen Burstyn and Scatman Crothers all doing “big” moves in the game of life.

None of the characters were really developed well enough and I didn’t really care what would happen to any of them along the way.

Loved the constant reminder to us that the whole city of Atlantic City is actually “Monopoly Town” and everywhere you go, life and the game intersect.

Besides referencing many of the known Monopoly properties, they also have lots of references to Jail, Buying real estate (hotels) and advancing to the the Boardwalk itself.

I’m not sure if it was meant to be thought of this way, but I enjoyed the analogy of how your actions in life can be paralleled to actions within a game and vice versa.

All in all, I didn’t get as much out of this film as I had hoped to, but I guess this will have to suffice.

Bottom Line – Another film that I just didn’t “get.”  The cast is pretty good here and I loved the constant reminder that Atlantic City is “Monopoly Town”, but other than that, I can’t say I cared much about what would happen to these characters.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – The properties in the game Monopoly are named after streets in Atlantic City, New Jersey, but one of them was misspelled. The street is actually Marven Gardens. (From IMDB)

Rating – BAFTA Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

6 thoughts on “Here’s Jack Blogathon – The King of Marvin Gardens (1972)

  1. Pingback: And Onto the Final Day of Here’s Jack Blogathon – Realweegiemidget Reviews Films TV Books and more

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1972 |

  3. Pingback: As Good As Jack Gets : The Here’s Jack Blogathon Recap – Realweegiemidget Reviews Films TV Books and more

Let me Know what you think!!

