A Conversation with the Masters: The Empire Strikes Back 30 Years Later (2011)


“George was an amazing producer, he gave you freedom. He knew that as a director, if you feel choked, you can’t work well and I, am pretty much an improvisational director and so he went along with me.” – Irvin Kirshner

Number of Times Seen – 1 (3 May 2017)

Brief Synopsis – Four of the most influential people involved behind the scenes of The Empire Strikes Back reminisce on the process involved in making this film a success.

My Take on it – As a HUGE Star Wars fan, I was so delighted to get a hold of this film and listen to these four influential Star Wars greats discuss many behind the scenes situations during the film of Empire.

George Lucas, Irvin Kershner, John Williams and Lawrence Kasden all know how to keep us intrigued throughout this film.

They give us so much insight into the problems and solutions during the process of making the film and were able to easily surprise me with some of their unknown stories.

Being able to hear these men tell their part in the making of this film was extremely captivating for me and I’m sure other fans of the series will also enjoy it as well.

The one thing that disappointed me here was the fact that the film is only 25 minutes long and I would have been willing to listen to them all talk for hours about their parts here.

Bottom Line – Such an amazing film to watch because it is so insightful and adds so much new information to what already was known about the making of the film.  Hearing each of these men discuss their part in helping make this film such a success was so captivating and I was disappointed that we only get to spend 25 minutes with them. Highly Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – George Lucas, Irvin Kershner, Lawrence Kasdan and John Williams look back on the making of The Empire Strikes Back in this in-depth retrospective from Lucasfilm created to help commemorate the 30th anniversary of the movie. The masters discuss and reminisce about one of the most beloved films of all time. (From Star Wars Wiki)

Rating – Oscar Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

 

5 thoughts on “A Conversation with the Masters: The Empire Strikes Back 30 Years Later (2011)

  1. Wow! Very interesting. I’m pushing up my nerdy little glasses and hopping right over to Youtube now 😉 I hope I can find this special feature / doc / interview thing. Empire is my fav Star Wars!! Thanks for highlighting this one, Rob 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  3. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2011 |

Let me Know what you think!!

