Forced Movies 2017 #2 – Grave of the Fireflies (1988)


This is the second of 14 films that I was “forced” to watch by my fellow bloggers who participated in my Blogiversary Contest last month.  This movie was chosen by SG.  Tnx for the suggestion.  Let’s see what I thought of it….


“Why do fireflies have to die so soon? ” – Setsuko

Number of Times Seen – 1 (7 May 2017)

Brief Synopsis – A teenage boy must fend for himself and his young sister in the final days of World War II in war torn Japan.

My Take on it – I’ve never really been the biggest fan of Anime and SG has been very persistent in his attempts to try and get me to watch more in order to make me change my feelings for the genre.

I can probably say that this is one of the best I’ve seen (of the handful watched by me) and that has more to do with the story itself instead of the animation itself.

I really like dhow the story flows at a steady pace and keeps things interesting despite the fact that not much actually happens to these characters as they move along from place to place.

They don’t try to sugarcoat or fantasize about the realism of life and we get to see the view of the world as it really is.

Just watching these two characters move from place to place is a riveting experience and it helps attest to the perseverance of people when they find themselves in desperate situations where they aren’t quite sure what to do.

The fact that not much actually happens here makes things feel even more realistic and we get to live through the ups and downs of their journey as seen through two very different pairs of eyes; one an innocent child and the other a teenager who has seen so many horrors and must grow up literally overnight in order to protect hios sister.

Bottom Line – Great story because it tries to tell the world as it is instead of trying to sugarcoat or fantasize things.  Watching these two characters try and keep themselves alive under such circumstances is extremely riveting and it attests to the perseverance of people in desperate situations. Liked the way not much really happens in the story which makes things more realistic as the duo travel from place to place trying to find some kind of sanctuary for them to make it through until the end of the war. Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Isao Takahata was the only living animator involved on the project who had survived bomb blasts. (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

22 thoughts on “Forced Movies 2017 #2 – Grave of the Fireflies (1988)

  1. Thanks for giving it a chance, Rob, and I’m glad you appreciated it. It tears my heart out every time, but I can’t help but admire it. I hope the “forcing” hasn’t been too unpleasant. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: “Forced” Movies 2017 Recap |

  3. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1988 |

Let me Know what you think!!

