Speed Racer (2008)


“Racing hasn’t changed, and it never will.” – Speed

Number of Times Seen – 1 (23 May 2017)

Brief Synopsis – A gifted racing driver enters a race in order to help his family while also following in the footsteps of his older brother who was killed a few years earlier during a race.

My Take on it – This is the only Wachowki sibling directed film that I had yet to watch, so I decided to give it a try.

Unfortunately, despite the fact that it’s a fast paced film, I was bored out of my mind with this.

The story and characters are all really weird and in attempt to shows something on a more technologically enhanced level, the story and characters both get left way behind.

The characters all feel like typical stereotypes for films like this and there really isn’t anything innovative shown here besides the cool looking special effects used during the race sequences.

I have avoided this film for nearly a decade because I had heard that it was a complete dud and now I know why.

The Wachowskis have given us much better films both before and after this one, so stick to them and stay away from this one.

Bottom Line – What a crazy and strange film.  The story itself is quite boring but the effects used during the racing sequences were actually fun to watch.  Instead of keeping this film enjoyable it gets bogged down with stereotypicaly crooked racing officials and racers.  There’s a reason many people thing this movie was a dud.. and now I agree with them.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – After winning a race, Speed Racer jumps out of his car while it’s still moving and strikes a pose as his car slows and stops just behind him; in addition, the lights flashing in the grandstand behind Speed briefly dissolve into a red-yellow checkerboard background. This scene replicates the trademark pose of Speed Racer in the opening credits of Speed Racer (1967).  (From IMDB)

Rating – Razzie Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

3 thoughts on “Speed Racer (2008)

  1. When I reviewed this I described it as “kind of like eating a great big bag of E-number filled cheap sweets and then feeling so ill you have to do a massive multicoloured vom. Like a migraine in a washing machine.”

    Like

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2008 |

Let me Know what you think!!

