Berlin Syndrome (2017)


“What would be the worst thing I could ever do to you? Don’t worry… I would never do it. We are a team. ” – Andi

Number of Times Seen – 1 (4 Jun 2017)

Brief Synopsis – After an Australian tourist visiting Germany meets and has a one night stand with a local guy, he decides to keep her prisoner in his apartment as she constantly tries to find a way to freedom.

My Take on it – This is a film that I knew very little about before watching and was completely caught off guard in the way it was told.

I had suspected it to be a romance film and then was shocked to find a psychological thriller that was done in a horrificly realistic way.

Everything that happens is done in such a believable way that it’s hard not to be shocked and appalled by the way things move along.

We easily learn about and understand both of the main characters and find out what they want from the other.

This film is filled with twists and turns the whole way and you never know what to expect from scene to scene.

Bottom Line – This was not the kind of movie that I expected at all. I suspected that it would be more of a romance film but was shocked that it was a psychological which I usually enjoy. The plot is horrificly told yet remains realistic the whole way through. We quickly understand who the characters are and what they want. The twists and turns work and you never know what will happen in any scene. Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Teresa Palmer described her participation on the project as “one of the most transformational experiences” of her life, as well as “the most liberating film experience” of her career. (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

One thought on “Berlin Syndrome (2017)

  1. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

Let me Know what you think!!

