XX/XY (2002)


“So, we’re all sorry but we all had fun” – Coles

Number of Times Seen – 1 (7 Jun 2017)

Brief Synopsis – After a three way relationship in college ends poorly, the participants must deal with the consequences a decade later.

My Take on it – This is a film that I came across purely by accident and was intrigued by the very ambiguous synopsis that I read.

Unfortunately after having seen the movie, I still feel that there are too many unanswered and unexplained parts of the film to feel that it gave me a satisfactory closure.

Yes, this film does deal with some very complex yet interesting themes and I’m not quite sure myself how I would have been able to find a satisfying way to put it all together in the end also.

We all make decisions in life that may resurface later in life and we never know how we will choose to deal with them when that happens.

Each of the three main characters chose to deal with their pasts in different way and that was interesting to see.

The biggest problem that I had here tho was the fact that I didn’t feel the characters were developed enough for us to really care about what they would do in order to deal with their issues.

Bottom Line – This film deals with a complicated yet interesting subject matter; how does one deal with decisions of the past when they reappear years later. I liked the way that each of the three characters deals with things in different ways, but unfortunately, I didn’t care deeply for any of them when they tried to deal with their issues.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – A married couple that director Austin Chick knew were so affected by the emotional repercussions of their friend’s film that they started divorce proceedings shortly after seeing it. (From IMDB)

Rating – BAFTA Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

One thought on “XX/XY (2002)

  1. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2002 |

Let me Know what you think!!

