CHIPs (2017)


“I’m Northbound Elesi Park, Ponch is Southbound.” – Jon Baker

Number of Times Seen – 1 (14 Jun 2017)

Brief Synopsis – An FBI agent goes undercover as a California Highway Patrolman in order to capture a bunch of dirty cops.

My Take on it –This is a film that I was so excited about when I originally heard it was being made because I am such a fan of the TV show it is based on from the late 70’s and early 80’s.

I saw just about all of the episodes in syndication but still recall watching it on Sunday nights every so often with my older siblings.

Once I saw the trailer for this film a few months back, I knew it wasn’t gonna be able to live up to the quality of the original show because this was being done as a comedy instead of a drama.

The plot is pretty silly and there are so many holes in the entire script that you could drive a motorcycle through each of them.

The entire point of the film is to make fun of the characters and constantly try and get some laughs.

The jokes sometimes go a bit too far and turn the whole thing into a farce.

I think the biggest mistake it that they made this film an out and out comedy instead of trying to keep it as a serious drama.

Dax Shepard and Michael Pena are both fine actors, but neither is truly able to take the place of Larry Wilcox or Erik Estrada.

I now need to find a few episodes of the CHIPs TV show in order to try and wipe away the feelings of defamation of such a fun TV show.

Bottom Line – Pretty disappointing film adaptation that completely destroys the image of the original TV show. The plot is pretty silly and is all used to just make fun of characters and try to get some laughs.  The jokes go a bit too far now and then and instead of being a serious story, it all comes across as a farce. Shepard and Pena are no Wilcox and Estrada and I now am more interested in revisited them in order to wipe clear this defamation of such a great TV show.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – After the trailer debuted, a rumor stated that Erik Estrada, star of the original “CHiPs (1977)”, blasted the trailer as “pure trash”. Estrada later tweeted he never said that, and said, “Just watched the CHIPS trailer and laughed. Shepard and Pena are great. Cool stunts too.” (From IMDB)

Rating – BAFTA Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

6 thoughts on “CHIPs (2017)

  1. Wow – how bad must this be (and I heard it stinks on ice) if Dax and Michael aren’t able to out-act Larry Wilcox and Erik friggin Estrada. That’s like saying there’s nobody who could be a better President than Donald Trump. What I ate for lunch yesterday could be a better POTUS than Trump. There was NOTHING funny about the trailer (which should’ve been your first clue) and even if I’d been a rabid fan of the TV series (I wasn’t – I never watched a single episode) – that, coupled with the rabidly horrendous reviews – would’ve been enough to keep me far away from this one. Even when it eventually shows up on cable TV – I will avoid it likes it’s radioactive.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  3. Pingback: Baywatch (2017) |

Let me Know what you think!!

