Heaven Help Us (1985)


“I’ve been kicked off the track team, and without track my grades will be based on…

my grades.” – Rooney

Number of Times Seen – Between 3-5 times (Cable in the 80’s and 13 Jun 2017)

Brief Synopsis – A coming of age tale of boys at an exclusive catholic school in New York during the 1960’s

My Take on it – This is a film that I saw numerous times as a kid and always have had fond memories of it despite not really recalling much of what happened.

Rewatching it almost 30 years later, I find it harder to relate to the characters and found many scenes feeling drawn out and not as inspiring as I had recalled it being.

The cast of young actors is great and I loved seeing Andrew McCarthy, Kevin Dillion, Mary Stuart Masterson, Yeardley Smith and Patrick Dempsey in this.

In addition, Donald Sutherland, Wallace Shawn and John Heard are great as faculty members of the school.

Sutherland is great as the Headmaster of the school and I really liked how they portrayed him as a character who is mostly in the background, yet knows everything going on instead of personally taking care of everything directly.

Bottom Line – I enjoyed this film much more as a kid but now found it to be a bit overlong and not as inspiring as I had recalled. Great cast helps a bit but I couldn’t really feel much of a connection to any of the characters. Sutherland is great as the Headmaster and I liked how his character is more prominently in the background keeping an eye on things instead of taking care of it all on his own.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – During gym class the priest tells the boys they will soon be called upon to fight communism. The following year Kevin Dillon (Rooney) would star in the Vietnam epic Platoon (1986).(From IMDB)

Rating – BAFTA Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

4 thoughts on “Heaven Help Us (1985)

Let me Know what you think!!

