YPF (2007)


“You’re wrong there. This top is actually *specifically* designed to make guys you wish that you could come home with me.” – Mia

Number of Times Seen – 2 (9 Jul 2008 and 18 Jun 2017)

Brief Synopsis – Tells five different tales of couples getting reading to have a night of love.

My Take on it – This is a fdilm I saw 9 years ago and didn’t remember much about it but knew that I had rated it nicely on my IMDB rating list.

I came across it again on a list and decided to refresh my meory and see what it all was about (again).

The idea here of showing 5 couples as they each try to have sexual encounters is done in such a unique way that it stays interesting the entire time.

I really liked how each of the stories is completely different and how they cut between each story as the encounters move along step by step.

Each of the couples are together for completely different reasons and they let us watch as each of the ten characters tries to explore how and why they are in their particular situation.

One would think that this film would be extremely crude base don it’s premise, but I gotta say that I was extremely impressed with the way that they take care to give us a very adult yet (mostly) respectable perspective on it all.

None of the actors are really well known because the film is quite low budget yet I am quite intrigued to see more work from the writers of the film Aaron Abrams and Martin Gero because they really know how to present something like this.

Bottom Line – Very interesting idea that surprisingly works quite well because of the techniques used to tell the stories.  Liked the way that each of the 5 stories were completely different and how we got to learn so much about these differing forms of relationships that affect how each encounter takes place. Not as crude as one would expect, but still gets it’s point across in a  pretty adult and (mostly) respectable manner. Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – It is one of the most successful and highest grossing Canadian films of all time, staying in Canadian theaters for over 15 weeks. (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

One thought on “YPF (2007)

  1. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2007 |

Let me Know what you think!!

