Batman V. Superman: Dawn of Justice (2016) – Encore Review


“Everything’s changed. Men fall from the sky, the gods hurl thunderbolts, innocents die. That’s how it starts, sir. The fever, the rage, the feeling of powerlessness that turns good men… cruel.”- Alfred

Number of Times Seen – 2 (27 Jun 2016 and 19 Jun 2017)

Link to original reviewHere

Brief Synopsis – Both Batman and Superman try to stop a new threat to the world that also is doing its best to pit them against one another due to their differing views on how to fight the brewing evil.

My Take on it – This is the second time that I’ve sat through the 3+ hour Ultimate version of this film and I enjoyed it even more this second time than beforehand.

This will shock many, but this film will definitely be in my top ten of the 2016 when I published my official TTT list at the end of this month.

I have always loved the characters of Superman and Batman and the idea to put them together in a film has long been a dream of mine.

Now that it’s been done, I am sooo pleased with the result because it tells such an epic story that leads places we never would have expected.

With the first Justice League film slated to come out in November, this film is the perfect prelude to what is to come because it allows us to see how two of the most powerful superheroes who both differ in their views on fighting evil need to first deal with their differences before tending to the problems of the world as a team.

many people will disagree with me, but I feel that Ben Affleck is truly a GREAT choice to play Bruce Wayne/Batman because he has shown that he can portray a great leader among heroes in their upcoming battle against a great evil.

The plot still has a few small holes in it, but the added footage apparently is able to plug up most of the problems from the theatrical release.

The plot is filled with twists and turns the whole way through and it’s really amazing watching it unfold before our very eyes.

This is definitely worth watching as the full 3 hour version!

This can easily be counted among the best superhero films ever made and based on what I’ve heard and seen, we haven’t seen nothing yet!

Bottom Line – Amazing film as long as you watch the “Ultimate Version”.  There is so much going on here on numerous levels that it’s such an epic story that leads places you never would have expected.  The perfect prelude to the upcoming Justice League films because it gives us a chance to see how two very powerful heroes who fight evil in very diverse ways must fight one another in order to discover the best path to defeating the coming darkness together.  Affleck IS a great choice as Batman and will prove to be a great leader of the powerful superheroes in the upcoming films against evil. The plot twists and turns the whole way through and watching it unfold in front of us is such an amazing experience.  One of the best superhero films made to date and if I understand where all this may be going, we really haven’t seen nothing yet!  Highly Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia –  In this film, Batman wears a voice modulator in his suit to electronically alter his voice. After the casting of Ben Affleck in the role, this was an idea that had been suggested by his friend, director Kevin Smith, as he felt Affleck’s natural speaking voice was too high-pitched for Batman. (From IMDB)

Rating – Oscar Worthy (upgraded from original review)

______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

7 thoughts on “Batman V. Superman: Dawn of Justice (2016) – Encore Review

  1. As much as I despise this movie, it will likely be on my worst of 2016 list when I get around to it, I’m glad that you are so enthusiastic about it. I love seeing people excited about the films they’ve watched. And just an FYI, even I agree Affleck was a solid choice to play Batman. I’m looking forward to The Justice League and his solo outing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  3. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2016 |

Let me Know what you think!!

