Summer Movie Blogathon – The Sandlot (1993)


This is the first of 3 reviews that are part of The Summer Movie Blogathon hosted by Chris of Blog of the Darned.  Tnx for letting me participate!

“Remember kid, there’s heroes and there’s legends. Heroes get remembered but legends never die, follow your heart kid, and you’ll never go wrong.” – The Babe

Number of Times Seen – 1 (21 Jun 2017)

Brief Synopsis – After moving to a new town, a young boy quickly bonds with other kids in the area as they meet every day to play baseball and just have fun.

My Take on it – This is a film that I have heard about for years, but never really got around to seeing until I started to search for some movies to review with summer themes for this blogathon.

I think they do a really great job of making a coming of age movie that many people can relate to.

The idea that there is little to do in the summer (before we all had this massive wave of technology) besides hanging out with your friends is one that I can personally relate to albeit that I grew up twenty years after this film takes place.

My friends and I would meet on a daily basis to have fun and usually hang out at the local community pool where we would have fun in the water and on the grass around it for hours upon hours.

We didn’t have a local sandlot to hand out at, but we would also play catch, ride our bikes around and just enjoy the summer days together.

The fact that this film has a large cast of kids in order to complete a team of 9 makes things a bit difficult to keep track of them all and some get lost in the shuffle along the way because they aren’t all developed well enough.

Despite this, we still get a general idea of who is who and each of them do help to contribute to the communal feeling of it all.

I could also personally really relate to the family dynamics described here being part of a blended family myself where my step father and I didn’t always connect the best way properly and it also created instance where I didn’t knwo how to refer to him in public.

The nuances used here to describe this difficult situation are done really well and I saw so many things along the way that felt quite familiar to me.

Ultimately tho, this is a story about growing up and they do a fine job of making us care about the characters and of course their love for baseball.

Bottom Line – Great coming of age movie that in many ways reminded me of many adventures I had at that age. Because the cast of kids needs to have 9 characters, some of them get a bot lost in the shuffle and aren’t developed so well but we still get a general idea about them.  The family dynamic of the main character was something I personally could relate to and liked some of the nuances that they get right about it. Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – In order to establish the close bond between Smalls and Benny, the director had Tom Guiry and Mike Vitar meet and rehearse together weeks before the rest of the kids showed up to film. It worked so well that the other kids genuinely believed the two actors had been friends for a long time.  (From IMDB)

Rating

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

3 thoughts on “Summer Movie Blogathon – The Sandlot (1993)

  1. I’ve never seen The Sandlot, but it’s been on my list for a while. Reading your review, I know I’d like it. I grew up in San Diego. A lot of the neighborhoods are built in and around canyons. The canyon behind the house I grew up in had one spot where there was a large flat area that we kept free of weeds. One summer my brother and his friends and me and some of my friends built a wiffle ball field up there with a fence made of scrap wood scrounged from wherever. Hitting over the fence was considered a home run. My brother and his friends were about 5 years older than me and my friends. They hit home runs all the time. Me and my friends, we’d have to really connect to hit it over the fence, so it really meant something when you did. Some of my best memories as a kid are that wiffle ball field. I know that The Sandlot would bring all that back to me. Great post. Thanks for joining in. I’m looking forward to reading the others.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1993 |

Let me Know what you think!!

