Genre Grandeur – Singin’ the Rain (1952) – Ghezal Plus Movies


For this month’s next review for Genre Grandeur – Movie Musicals, here’s a review of Singin’ the Rain (1952) – by Ghezal of Ghezal Plus Movies

Thanks again to Audrey of 1001 Movies and Beyond for choosing this month’s genre.

Next month’s Genre has been chosen by Ghezal of Ghezal Plus Movies and she has chosen the genre of Film Noir Movies.

Please get me your submissions by the 25th of July by sending them to NoirGhezal@movierob.net

Try to think out of the box! Great choice Ghezal!

Let’s see what Ghezal thought of this movie:

_________________________________

Singin’ In The Rain Review

 

Starring: Gene Kelly, Debbie Reynolds, Donald O’Connor and Jean Hagen.

Directed By: Gene Kelly and Stanley Donen.

 

When I thought about which musical to write about for this month’s Grand Grandeur, a few titles popped into my mind. Most notably, last year’s La La Land which was my favourite film of 2016 and earned what I like to refer to as a Golden Damon, that is a perfect score of 5 Matt Damon Heads (Check review here: https://ghezalplusmovies.com/2017/01/06/la-la-land-2016-a-captivatingly-beautiful-work-that-solidifies-my-love-for-the-musical-review/).

 

As much as I adored La La Land, I realized I had to pay tribute to the phenomenally iconic Singin’ In The Rain that released in 1952 and whose title I still utter on a consistent basis whenever it rains outside. According to many involved in the production, including the late & oh so great Debbie Reynolds, shooting the film was a seemingly tortuous experience. Rehearsing until their feet bled. Filming despite feeling like utter shit… And you can truly tell that all that arduous work paid off immensely because it is a spectacularly enjoyable film.

 

Witnessing the highs and lows experienced by the trio as they transition from silent film to those damn “talkies” is an absolute joy. Although the film deals with issues like the progression in technology and what that entails for an individual’s employment, it is executed with such brilliance and humour that I find myself cracking up uncontrollably when seeing how Lina (Jean Hagen) handles potentially losing her entire career because her voice is rather… terrible.

 

And those musical numbers! BOY how fantastic are those numbers? Placing aside the titular number that showcases all the magnetic energy of Gene Kelly, classic numbers like Good Morning!, You Were Meant For Me and O’Connor’s dizzying Make ‘Em Laugh that makes me laugh while also be seriously concerned for his well-being because this number is insane.

 

No matter what mood I am in, if I pop in Singin’ In The Rain it never fails to make me laugh, smile, cry and attempt to perform at least one choreographed dance until I quit a minute or two in to which I simply plop back onto my couch, stuffing chips into my mouth 🙂

 

Thanks again to MovieRob for this month’s GG! Check out my movie reviews and other fun hijinks over at ghezalplusmovies.com and follow me on twitter because I am a wicked retweeter, @MrsBananaPhone

2 thoughts on “Genre Grandeur – Singin’ the Rain (1952) – Ghezal Plus Movies

  1. Pingback: Genre Grandeur June Finale – Guys and Dolls (1955) – 1001 Movies and Beyond |

  2. Agree with you on Singin’ In The Rain. Probably still the standard bearer for movie musicals – and a standalone because it was not based on a pre-existing Broadway property – but was written for the screen by the estimable Adolph Green and Betty Comden. And the direction was none too shabby either by Kelly and Donen. Amazing still that Debbie Reynolds was thrown into this classic with Kelly and O’Connor with little or no dancing experience. Talk about hitting the ground tapping.

    As far as La La Land goes – not nearly as enamored of that one as you are. Doesn’t hold a candle to SITR IMO. Only about half of it worked for me – and the ending was ridiculous.

    Like

Let me Know what you think!!

