Temporal Top Ten – 2016


top ten

Number of movies seen from this year – 148
Number of movies reviewed – 158 (including 10 Encore Reviews)

 

Well, I figured that at the half way point of 2017, it’s about time to finally declare my updated list of favorite movies from 2016.

Once again, I want to emphasis that this list is based on my own personal favorites from the year 2016 and I know that there will be many people who will disagree with me, a favorite movie for me is one that I will plan to see again and again.

In February, I declared my top ten, but now that I have seen a lot more films from 2016, I feel even more confident to add this year to my list of Temporal Top Ten Lists.

I’m actually glad that I waited a bit because there are 2 movies that have cracked my top ten that I only had the pleasure to see over the last few months (plus one of them, I rewatched this week which solidified its spot here).

Enjoy my list and let the debates begin!

 

Honorable Mentions: 

Honorable Mention #5 – Hidden Figures

Honorable Mention #4 – Captain America: Civil War

 Honorable Mention #3 – La La Land

 Honorable Mention #2 – Star Trek Beyond

Honorable Mention #1 – Lion

10. All the Way

9. Sing Street

8. Passengers

7. Patriot’s Day

6. Tower

5. Batman Vs. Superman: Dawn of Justice

4. Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

3. Hacksaw Ridge

2. O.J.: Made in America

  1. Manchester By the Sea
  1. 11. 22.63
  2. 13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers of Benghazi
  3. 13th
  4. 20th Century Women
  5. 4.1 Miles
  6. The 5th Wave
  7. The Accountant
  8. All the Way
  9. Allied
  10. Amanda Knox
  11. Anthropoid
  12. Arrival
  13. Bad Moms
  14. Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice  Encore Review
  15. Batman: Bad Blood
  16. Batman: The Killing Joke
  17. The BFG
  18. Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk
  19. The Birth of a Nation
  20. Blind Vaysha
  21. Blood Father
  22. Blue Jay
  23. Captain America: Civil War  Encore Review
  24. Captain Fantastic
  25. Collateral Beauty
  26. The Congressman
  27. Criminal
  28. Date For Mad Mary, A
  29. Deadpool
  30. Deepwater Horizon
  31. Defying the Nazis: The Sharps’ War
  32. Denial
  33. The Division: Agent Origins
  34. Doctor Strange
  35. Don’t Think Twice
  36. The Edge of Seventeen
  37. Elle
  38. Elvis & Nixon
  39. The Exception
  40. Extremis
  41. The Family
  42. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them
  43. Fastball
  44. Fences
  45. Finding Dory
  46. The Finest Hours
  47. Florence Foster Jenkins
  48. The Founder
  49. Fundamentals of Caring, The
  50. Gary from Accounting
  51. Ghostbusters
  52. Girl With All the Gifts, The
  53. Gold
  54. The Great Wall
  55. Greater
  56. Hacksaw Ridge       Encore Review
  57. Hail, Caesar!
  58. Hell or High Water
  59. Heroes Don’t Come Home
  60. Hidden Figures
  61. Hunt for the Wilderpeople
  62. I Am JFK Jr.
  63. I Am Not Your Negro
  64. Independence Day: Resurgence
  65. Indignation
  66. The Infiltrator
  67. Into the Inferno
  68. Jack Reacher: Never Go Back
  69. Jackie
  70. Jason Bourne                           Encore Review
  71. Jim: The James Foley Story
  72. Joe’s Violin
  73. The Jungle Book
  74. Justice League vs. Teen Titans
  75. Killing Reagan
  76. A Kind of Murder
  77. Kubo and the Two Strings
  78. La La Land
  79. The Legend of Tarzan
  80. The Light Between Oceans
  81. Life, Animated
  82. Lion
  83. London Has Fallen
  84. Loving
  85. The Magnificent Seven
  86. Manchester by the Sea       Encore Review
  87. Me Before You
  88. Midnight Special
  89. Mine
  90. Miss Sloane
  91. Moana
  92. Money Monster
  93. A Monster Calls
  94. Moonlight
  95. Mother’s Day
  96. Mr. Church
  97. The Neon Demon
  98. Nerve
  99. The Nice Guys
  100. Nocturnal Animals
  101. Norman: The Moderate Rise and Tragic Fall of a New York Fixer
  102. Notes on Blindness
  103. O.J.: Made in America
  104. Office Christmas Party
  105. Passengers
  106. Patriots Day     Encore Review
  107. Pear Cider and Cigarettes
  108. Pearl
  109. Pete’s Dragon
  110. The Phenom
  111. Piper
  112. Popstar: Never Stop Never Stopping
  113. The Purge: Election Year
  114. Race
  115. The Red Turtle
  116. Rogue One: A Star Wars Story   Encore Review   Encore Review  2  Encore Review 3
  117. Sausage Party
  118. The Secret Life of Pets
  119. Secrets of the Force Awakens: A Cinematic Journey
  120. The Siege of Jadotville
  121. Silence
  122. Sing Street
  123. Split
  124. Star Trek Beyond  Encore Review
  125. Storks
  126. Stranger Things
  127. Suicide Squad
  128. Sully
  129. Swiss Army Man
  130. The Take (Bastille Day)
  131. Tickled
  132. Tower
  133. Train to Busan
  134. Triple 9
  135. Trolls
  136. Una
  137. USS Indianapolis: Men of Courage
  138. Vigilante
  139. Warcraft
  140. We Make Movies
  141. Weiner
  142. Whiskey Tango Foxtrot
  143. The White Helmets
  144. The Whole Truth
  145. X-Men: Apocalypse
  146. Young Offenders, The
  147. Your Name
  148. Zootopia

 

9 thoughts on “Temporal Top Ten – 2016

  1. Way too late to get into this now. But I will revisit the list later and get back to you. (FYI – you’re mixing some TV movies and miniseries into the group. For me – a movie is a film released and seen on a movie screen in a theater, NOT on HBO or a TV channel) More to follow

    Liked by 1 person

    • for me, its anything that i’ve seen during the year doesn’t matter if its a tv movie or miniseries. That how I do this! 🙂 at least u cant complain that I havent watched enough movies this year 🙂

      Like

  2. Helluva list – the alphabetical one of movies seen. And we’ve already discussed the mix of theatrical films with made for Tv ones and minseries etc. I tend to segregate more, but to each his own. As to your actual Top 10 and Honorable Mentions – we’d have some crossover there. OJ was a documentary – but also made my Top 10 for 2016. A few others (in your 15) wouldn’t have made my Top 25. “All The Way” began as a stage play (and won the Tony Award – I saw it twice on Broadway) and was then adapted for HBO (and Emmy nominated) by it’s author (and a buddy of mine) Robert Schenkkan – who would be thrilled that it made your list at #10, along with “Hacksaw Ridge” at #3, because he wrote both. Nicer career for some. Superlative year for him. Neither Sing Street nor Passengers would’ve topped any of my lists. Never heard of or seen Tower. Batman v. Superman – didn’t even like it. All The Way – for me – wouldn’t qualify. Lion would be high on my Top 10. Saw Patriot’s Day early in ’17, but it was excellent – along with Deepwater Horizon – both directed by Peter berg, both starring Mark Wahlberg. I saw 102 movies last year – in a movie theater…

    My Top 20 for 2016 (in chronological order that I saw them in the theater): Deadpool, 10 Cloverfield Lane, Eye in the Sky, Jungle Book, The Green Room, The Nice Guys, Me Before You, Captain Fantastic, The Shallows, HELL OR HIGH WATER (my #1 for the year), The Light Between Oceans, Deepwater Horizon, A Man Called Ove, Moonlight, Arrival, Loving, Miss Sloane, Lion, Jackie and Hidden Figures.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow. I’m super impressed that u saw 102 films in the theater… wow! Mibe would be like 10 😉 u have sone solid films in ur top ten too imho. Really enjoyed Miss Sloane but parts felt too contrieved besides Chastain being amazing in it. Ive seen 18 of ur 20 and agree that they r mostly very good films but I think jackie and moonlight r extremely overrated. I kniw im in the minority but I liked the idea or moonlight but felt that the second and third segments just aren’t as strong as the first. I think more people liked what it was ‘trying’ to say more than the way it was presented to us. Its oscar win was a triumph but not necessarily a deserving one IMHO. Havent yet seen the shallows and 10 cloverfield lane which makes a lot of sense since im not a fan of horror.. 😉 im shocked to keatn tgat Hacksaw and ATW r written by the same screenwriter. Very impressive. tnx for stopping by and taking the time to comment Michael. Its appreciated!

      Like

  3. Still haven’t seen some of these, but all your honorable mentions were in my top twelve, with La La Land at #1, of course. Certainly agree with Rogue One and Hacksaw Ridge, but I’m really confounded that Batman v Superman made it so high. Even after that silly Martha twist? Don’t forget about Eddie the Eagle. I suspect that’s one you’d enjoy.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten |

Let me Know what you think!!

