Lego Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Out (2012)


“Now this is pod racing. ” – Darth Vader

Number of Times Seen – 1 (6 Jul 2017)

Brief Synopsis – After destroying the Death Star, Luke Skywalker and Princess Leia go on a daring mission to Naboo to stop an Imperial plot

My Take on it – As a HUGE fan of all things Star Wars, I was once again pleasantly surprised to see another film in this series because they do an amazing job parodying the entire series.

I was laughing almost the entire time because they were able to put so much thought and detail into making this connect with the rest of the Star Wars canon.

The idea to find a funny way to bridge the gaps between Episodes 4 and 5 by plugging holes with characters that were in Episode I was ingenious and it worked so well to create a fun atmosphere.

The details utilized here are superb and my favorite was the idea that there is possibly a Wookie version of Scrabble.

That passing thought along with having Darth Vader return to his own roots was great and so much fun to watch.

Loved how they were able to once again use the Force to build and un-build Lego vehicles along the way.

Since I am such a fan of the films of the canon, I thoroughly enjoyed every moment of this short film because I was able to relate to so much of it and also understand so many (if not most) of the jokes and parodies presented here.

Can’t wait to try and find more of these films to watch because they are truly quite clever.

Bottom Line – Another hilarious parody that made me laugh the entire time. Loved the way that they found a way to close the gap between Episodes 4 and 5 by adding in lots of backstory from Episode I. The amount of thought and detail put into making something like this is astounding. I especially loved the Wookie scrabble board.  These films make me appreciate Star Wars even more because I can relate to just about every one of the jokes.  Highly Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – The license plate sticker on the back of the Emperor’s shuttle says, “How’s My Emperoring?” (From IMDB)

Rating – Oscar Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

Let me Know what you think!!

