The Red Balloon (1956)


“Could you hold my balloon while I’m in school? ” – Pascal

Number of Times Seen – 1 (6 Jul 2017)

Brief Synopsis – A young boy finds a Red Balloon in the streets of France and quickly finds out that the balloon has a mind of its own.

My Take on it – I came across this film by accident and quickly realized how simple yet complex its story really is.

I’m not a fan of Foreign language films in general and was surprised that this French film was able to win an Oscar for Best Screenplay despite not having to utilize language very often; it is mostly silent yet says so much.

This film uses imagination to tell us an allegorical tale about love, goodness, innocence, evil, jealousy, cruelty and ultimately redemption.

This film is presented to us so beautifully and it is probably one of the best original children’s fantasy films ever made and it is all done so simply.

A MUST Watch film for all film lovers!

Bottom Line – Great story that is so simple yet is filled with complex ideas about imagination, love and ultimately jealousy and cruelty.  The fact that this film could win an Oscar for Best Screenplay with virtually dialogue says so much about the way it’s presented to us. Such a great children’s fantasy tale! Highly Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – With its Oscar win for Best Original Screenplay, the film is (as of 2013) the only short film to win an Academy Award outside of the short film categories. (From IMDB)

Rating – Oscar Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

4 thoughts on “The Red Balloon (1956)

  1. Great review. I’m glad you watched it! I’ve seen it maybe 100 times or more since childhood and I am hypnotized by it every new watch. A true work of genius! I show it to my students and then have them write about it. It’s great for inspiring imagination.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: MovieRob’s Monthly Roundup – July 2017 |

Let me Know what you think!!

