Gifted (2017)


“He’s a good person. He wanted me before I was smart. ” – Mary

Number of Times Seen – 1 (9 Jul 2017)

Brief Synopsis – A man raising his genius niece must try to do what’s best for her when his own mother tries to fight for custody.

My Take on it – This is a film that I knew absolutely nothing about before I saw it and was very pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed it.

The cast is great and this is further proof that Chris Evans can be a great lead dramatic actor besides holding his own as a superhero.

The connections between all the characters was done quite well and I enjoyed slowly learning about the history that led them all to this point in time.

Besides Evans, McKenna Grace and Octavia Spencer are both great to watch.

Grace does a wonderful job holding the balance of trying to be an 8 year old but at the same time being quite intelligent and neither side felt overbearing.

Spencer’s character wasn’t used enough here because she was a fun character to watch yet didn’t really have enough screen time for us to get to know who she really was even better.

All in all, the story presented here has a lot of heart and works quite well.

Bottom Line – Very interesting story that has a lot of heart. I really liked the connections between the characters and how they slowly give us more and more information about everything that has transpired to get to the current situation. Evans proves here that he can take on dramatic films and doesn’t always have to play the action hero character. Grace was great because she played the 8 year old girl excellently and we were able to feel the kid and the genius at the same time without either feeling overbearing.  Spencer was also quite good here but felt a bit underused because her character was really interesting to watch. Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Screenwriter Tom Flynn had his script, “Gifted” featured on the 2014 Blacklist and his screenplay would later be performed at the “Black List Live!” Reading Series at the Montalban Theatre in Hollywood in March of 2015. (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

One thought on “Gifted (2017)

  1. Agree with you 100%. I saw this at a free pre-release screening at a local theater and thought it was terrific. Took a few twists I didn’t see coming. Acting was very good across the board. Touching and funny and made a very nice impression on me.

    Like

Let me Know what you think!!

