Honey, I Shrunk the Kids (1989)


“When we crashed, my entire life flashed before my eyes. It didn’t take too long. ” – Nick

Number of Times Seen – at least 5 times (Theater in ’89, cable, 25 May 2005 and 10 Jul 2017)

Brief Synopsis – Four kids are accident shrunk by a new government invention created by the father of two of them and must find a way across their lawn to safety while encountering dangers they never knew existed.

My Take on it – This is a film that I loved as a kid and have always had a soft spot in my heart for it.

Rick Moranis is a great actor and does a wonderful job as the lead here; he is able to succinctly play both the absent minded professor but also an emotional parent role quite well.

It’s truly unfortunate that he needed to choose to quit the profession nearly two decades ago because he had so much promise ahead of him.

The story here is a great one because it gives us and adventure for the kids and shows how emotional a parent can get when trying to find a missing child (in the lawn).

The special effects are quite good for its day, but seem quite archaic by today’s standards.

Regardless, it seems quite believable that these kids are the size of insects.

The whole idea is quite fun to watch unfold and they do a great job of keeping the varying storylines balanced between the different characters trying to find a solution to the dilemma that has occurred for them.

I recently showed this to my kids and they also really enjoyed the way it was done.

Bottom Line – Still a really fun film to watch over and over. Moranis is an amazingly fun actor to watch and its unfortunate that he chose to end his career so young. The special effects look ancient compared to what we have now, but for its time they did a wonderful job making us believe that the kids were really the size of insects. The story itself is fun to watch and they are able to keep things balanced between the different characters trying to find answers from both sides. Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – For the scene in which miniaturized Nick Szalinski drops into a bowl of Cheerios cereal, a tank was filled with 16,000 gallons of a milk-like substance made from chlorinated water, food thickener, and pigment. The Cheerios were made from tractor inner tubes, twelve feet in diameter, coated in foam. (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

One thought on “Honey, I Shrunk the Kids (1989)

  1. Just as an FYI here – I had a meeting with the producers who approached me about writing the screenplay to this one. It was being called “The Teenie Weenies”. The movie was a lot of fun, but the way it was pitched to me at the time – I wasn’t interested – and passed.

    Like

Let me Know what you think!!

