Jack Reacher: Never Go Back (2016)


“If it were up to me, I’d just kill ya.” – Reacher

Number of Times Seen – 1 (12 Jul 2017)

Brief Synopsis – Jack Reacher is back and must try to find out why he and a fellow Army officer are being framed for high crimes.

My Take on it – Over the past 4 years or so, the Jack Reacher book series by Lee Child has quickly become one of my favorite book series.

That largely has to do with the way the main character Jack Reacher acts and always tries to do the right thing.

When I saw the original film adaptation in the series, I wasnt as familiar with yhe character as I am now, but I always knew that Tom Cruise was especially miscast in the lead role.

For those who know the character,  Cruise’s portrayal really ruins the experience and they turn Reacher into sonething far from what he should be.

In addition, they make so many other changes in this adaptation that the story just isn’t as powerful or as interesting as it was on paper.

I must say that the changes in the geographical locations portrayed here also takes away from the story and certain plot points are skimmed over too quickly.

The action is done quite well but again it veers too far away from the source to really feel like a Reacher ‘adventure’.

As most of us already know, most book adaptations to the screen dont present the story well enough to accurately tell the story the author wished to tell.

I suggest that the next time someone decides to make a film with Jack Reacher, they should recast the lead and try to stay closer to the story Child told us.

Bottom Line – Book was sooo much better. Cruise still isn’t a good Reacher and helps ruin such a great story. The adaptation tries to give us a grander story than the book did and as a fan of the series of books (I’ve read them all), I was extremely disappointed by this.  This is truly action packed but it really feels like it doesn’t present the character or his abilities very well.   The changing of some of the geographic locations actually hurts the story somewhat also.  I propose that if they ever decide to make another film in this series, they recast the lead and also give us a story closer to the one from the book.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Source novelist Lee Child, author of the ‘Jack Reacher’ novels, has a brief cameo as a TSA agent who is seemingly ambivalent to the fact that Jack (Tom Cruise) does not really match the stolen ID he is using to board the plane. This is a nod to Child’s support of the “controversial” casting of the diminutive 5’7″ tall Cruise as Child’s 6’5 tall,” 250lb weighing, and 50-inch wide-chested character of Jack Reacher. Despite a lot of fan backlash at the casting of Cruise, Lee responded: “Obviously, Tom Cruise doesn’t match the physical description of Reacher in the books, but the movie is not going to match the book anyway.” (From IMDB)

Rating – BAFTA Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

3 thoughts on “Jack Reacher: Never Go Back (2016)

  1. Briefly – I saw the 1st Jack Reacher movie. Eminently forgettable. Had no desire to see this long gestating follow up. And a short question: if the title of the movie tells you “Never Go Back” – who in their right mind would?

    Liked by 1 person

      • A producer I worked with a long time ago recommended that I grab a few Lee Child books and read them. I think I bought a couple, but didn’t want to subconsciously steal anything while I was in the midst of writing a script – so I didn’t read them. They’re still on my shelf – unread. I tend to go more for Micahel Connelly and John Sandford and Bard Thor.

        Liked by 1 person

Let me Know what you think!!

