Genre Guesstimation – The Big Sleep (1946)


The idea behind this feature (Genre Guesstimation) is for me to watch a bunch of new movies (or ones that I haven’t seen many times) from the chosen monthly GG genre in order to expand my knowledge of movies within that particular genre.

This month’s Genre has been chosen by Ghezal of Ghezal Plus Movies and she has chosen the genre of Film Noir Movies

Please get me your submissions by the 25th of July by sending them to noirghezal@movierob.net

Try to think out of the box! Great choice Ghezal!

Let’s see if I felt that this movie would be worthy of being in the company of my others favorite movies in the genre of Film Noir.

“My, my, my! Such a lot of guns around town and so few brains! You know, you’re the second guy I’ve met today that seems to think a gat in the hand means the world by the tail.” – Philip Marlowe

Number of Times Seen – 1 (19 Jul 2017)

Brief Synopsis – A private detective is hired to find out who is blackmailing a wealthy man with two devious daughters.

My Take on it – I decided that in order to make my guest choices of the Genre for the Genre Grandeur series more personal (and expand my own personal horizons of these genres), I will take a recommendation from my guest for a film to watch for this Genre Guesstimation series.

This film was Ghezal’s choice for me to watch.

I was actually a bit surprised when Ghezal suggested this and also embarrassed that I had never seen it before.

We all know that Humphrey Bogart is considered one of the best actors to portray a Private Investigator and this film is known for being one of his best.

Bogart is wonderfully teamed with his soon-to-be wife Lauren Bacall and their characters have a great love/hate chemistry throughout the film which helps make things work even better.

The script which is based on Raymond Chandler’s novel is extremely clever and it gets more and more complex as it moves along which helps keep us interested the whole time.

The dialogue is very witty and this is one of those films that is often quoted because the dialogue is so catchy and witty.

This kind of dialogue helps keep the thrilling and suspenseful atmosphere throughout because it assists in keeping the mood just right for this kind of subject matter.

This is truly a film that must be seen a few times in order to fully appreciate which means that I’m already due for a rewatch…. 🙂

Bottom Line – Bogart and Bacall are great together here despite their characters love/hate relationship throughout the film.  The script is extremely clever and keeps us guessing as things get more and more complex as it moves along. The dialogue is quite witty and that helps keep the atmosphere at the correct point to keep us in the mood for such thrills and suspense. This is a film that needs to be seen more than once to fully appreciate it. Highly Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Due to Humphrey Bogart’s affair with co-star Lauren Bacall, his marital problems escalated during filming, and his drinking often resulted in his being unable to work. Three months after the film was finished, Bacall and Bogart were married. (From IMDB)

Genre Grandeur Worthy? – Yes, the script is extremely clever and complex enough to keep you guessing all the way until the end and will now be considered amongst my favorites.

Rating – Oscar Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

 

5 thoughts on “Genre Guesstimation – The Big Sleep (1946)

  1. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  2. Pingback: Genre Grandeur July Finale – Double Indemnity (1944) – Ghezal Plus Movies |

  3. Pingback: MovieRob’s Monthly Roundup – July 2017 |

Let me Know what you think!!

