Spies Like Us (1985)


I’m sorry I’m late, I had to attend the reading of a will. I had to stay till the very end, and I found out I received nothing… broke my arm. ” – Emmett Fitz-Hume

Number of Times Seen – At least ten times (Theater in 85, cable, video, 19 Jul 2017)

Brief Synopsis – Two wannabe spies are sent on a mission to the Soviet Union by the government as decoys in order to facilitate a nuclear war.

My Take on it – I have loved this movie ever since I saw it for the first time when I was 11.

The pairing of Dan Aykroyd and Chevy Chase is pure genius because their mismatched personalities helps make every interaction between them hilarious.

This film is extremely quotable and the lines get funnier and funnier as time goes by because it is all written so well.

The premise itself is quite silly, but they do a wonderful job creating a Cold war comedy in the midst of the tense 1980’s.

This film was directed by John Landis who is a Director known for convincing other directors to make small cameos in all of his movies.

There are so many appearances here of famous directors and it makes watching this film even more fun because you can easily play “spot the director.”

Some of the known directors appearing here are Michael Apted, Martin Brest, Joel Coen, Larry Cohen, Costa-Gavras, Terry Gilliam, Frank Oz and Sam Raimi.

Bottom Line – Chase and Aykroyd are hilarious together. Their mismatched chemistry works so well here and this movie is so funny from start to finish. Landis’ use of Directors in small parts works really well here and it’s really enjoyable always trying to spot the famous director in all of his films.  This movie is extremely quotable and despite its silly premise, it was just what was needed in the mid-80’s during the tense days of the Cold War. Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – The movie was inspired by Bob Hope and Bing Crosby’s “Road” movies, thus explaining Bob Hope’s cameo appearance. Hope’s cameo of less than thirty seconds, playing a round of golf through a tent, was his final appearance in a film. (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

2 thoughts on “Spies Like Us (1985)

  1. I like this a lot as well and you’re right, it is very quotable:

    “Every minute you don’t tell us why you’re here, I cut off a finger.”

    “Mine or yours?”

    “If you let me go free, you can use my friend’s head for polo!”

    “We mock what we do not understand.”

    Like

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1985 |

Let me Know what you think!!

