TimeCrimes (2007) – Encore Review


“I need help. A man is after me. He’s trying to kill me.” – Hector

Number of Times Seen – 2 (8 May 2017 and 23 Jul 2017)

Link to original reviewHere

Brief Synopsis – A man comes across a time machine and after traveling back in time one hour, he must try and find a way not to interfere with the events of the day.

My Take on it – I’ve been a fan of time travel movies for as long as I can recall.

This is a film that I avoided for years mainly due to the fact that it’s in Spanish and I’m not the biggest fan of foreign language films.

A few months back, Jay from Life Vs. Film “forced” me to finally watch this and I liked it a lot, but knew that I needed to see it again in order to better appreciate it.

I recently listened to the LambCast MOTM podcast from March about this film hosted by Jay and Jason Soto of The Lair of the Unwanted and that got me excited to see this film again.

This time, I was able to find a version of the film that was dubbed into English and was therefore able to focus more on the movie instead of reading the subtitles.

This is such a great idea for a story because it’s so simple yet compelling story that can get more complex when you think more about the way time travel works.

The more and more that you ponder it all, the more mind boggling and genius the whole story is.

The idea to have a character travel back in time only one hour and then be required to recreate actions that he recalls his future self commits in order to avoid create a time paradox is pure genius and it’s done so well here.

They are able to explain the time travel rules so simply here and both fan and non-fans of the genre can catch on easily as to what is happening here and still enjoy it all.

This film has now cracked my top ten films of 2007!

I’m really glad that I decided to rewatch this and I’m once again looking forward to eventually seeing it yet again.

Bottom Line – Great time travel film that actually gets better upon rewatch. So much of what is done here boggles the mind and then makes us ponder all of the effects and repercussions of traveling in time. They use a simple story to tell such a fun and complex issue of what would happen if you travel back in time and then must recreate what you have seen in order to avoid paradoxes.  They do a wonderful job of explaining the time travel rules very easily here and both fans and non-fans of the genre can enjoy and understand everything that is going on here. So glad I saw this again and once again can’t wait to see it again.  Highly Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia –  The shirt that the girl in the forest (Bárbara Goenaga) is wearing depicts Schrödinger’s cat. (From IMDB)

Rating – Oscar Worthy (upgrade from original review)

______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

2 thoughts on “TimeCrimes (2007) – Encore Review

  1. I recently watched this for the first time last week, although it has been on my radar for a while as “one to watch”. The time travel aspect is done so well and the ever increasing complexity is great as the film progresses. Really well done film

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2007 |

Let me Know what you think!!

