Workplace in Film & TV Blogathon! – Compliance (2012)


This is the first of 2 reviews for the Workplace in Film & TV Blogathon! being run by Debbie over at Moon in Gemini.  Tnx for letting me take part!

“I don’t know what’s going on here, I’m just trying to do my job.” – Becky

Number of Times Seen – 2 (1 Jan 2013 and 15 Aug 2017)

Brief Synopsis – A fast food restaurant’s routine is interrupted when a policeman calls to inform the manager that one of the employees stole some money from a customer.

My Take on it – This is a film that I saw a few years back and was actually somewhat disgusted by the whole premise.

Upon reflection, I realized that I wasn’t actually disgusted per se by the film but more so by the fact that it feels so realistic and that similar things have happened.

I actually never expected to want to see this film film again because it was somewhat shocking and terrifying the first time I saw it.

I’m quite glad I did tho because this is such a riveting experience despite it also being horrifying.

The choice to use mostly unknown actors in this film helps make it all seem even more realistic because all of the characters feels real as regular blue collar workers trying to get through their day following the rules.

The ideas presented here are ones that you will be able to ponder for so long afterward especially since most people would constantly ask themselves how they would react in a similar situation.

This film is definitely a near-masterpiece due to the amazing way that this was out together for us.

This film now has earned a place on my Top Ten list of 2012.

Bottom Line – Gripping and terrifying the entire way through because it is so scary that this kind of thing has happened.  The fact that all of the actors are pretty unknown helps with the realistic aspects of it all. Wasn’t ever expecting to see this again because I was so traumatized the first time, but it was great reliving this riveting experience.  The ideas and themes presented here give us so much to ponder especially when considering the fact of what we would do in a similar kind of situation. Truly a near masterpiece by the way this was all put together. Highly Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Nearly all of the events in this movie are true. The movie centers on the incident in April 9th 2004, a call was made to a McDonald’s in Mount Washington, Kentucky; In the real life incident, the girl’s name was Louise Ogborn and she worked at McDonald’s. Her assistant managers name was Donna Summers and the caller on the other line was ‘Officer Scott’ and the call had originated from a pay-phone in Panama City, Florida. The card he had used was a AT&T phone card that he had bought at Wal-Mart.  (From IMDB)

Rating – Oscar Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

7 thoughts on “Workplace in Film & TV Blogathon! – Compliance (2012)

  1. Pingback: Workplace in Film & TV Blogathon: Day 1 Recap – MOON IN GEMINI

  2. It looks like I might enjoy this film because I generally like terrifying films. I also think that films should employ more unknown actors because they could bring so much to the film, especially in terms of realism, e.g. in the Bicycle Thieves. I am looking forward to your other entry for this blogathon.

    Like

  3. I gotta say, the description of this film makes my skin kind of crawl, especially since it’s based on a real incident. But I guess that’s where the best suspense comes from.

    Thanks so much for bringing it to the blogathon!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Announcing the Workplace in Film & TV Blogathon! – MOON IN GEMINI

  5. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2012 |

Let me Know what you think!!

