In the Loop (2009)


“”Climbing the mountain of conflict”? You sounded like a Nazi Julie Andrews! ” – Malcolm Tucker

Number of Times Seen – 1 (28 Aug 2017)

Brief Synopsis – Political satire of how inept low ranking politicians in both the US and England try to work together in order to prevent a war in the Middle East.

My Take on it – This is a film that I had no interest in seeing over the past 8 years.

Since it was selected as the MOTM at the LAMB for September, I decided to give it a shot and see what it all is really about.

This is a film that in my opinion takes things way too far and eventually gets too crazy and tedious.

I know that I’m in the minority with my opinion but I’ve never been taken in by the direction that satires have taken over the last few years.

Shows like The Office or Veep are extremely popular but I’ve never been taken in by the way that they present their comedy.

This film, IMHO, fits the same bill.

The storyline gets way too out of hand and instead of it remaining interesting, it goes into crazy places that it probably shouldn’t go.

Obviously, I’m not blind as to how things in the real political arena have changed over the past few years, but despite getting some of the things right, they mostly go too far over the top for my taste.

This film just wasn’t engaging enough for me in the end.

Bottom Line – Political satire that gets too tedious.  The storyline itself gets way out of hand and they make things seem even more crazy than they probably should. In a similar way to how the Office shows office work in extreme fashion, this film does the same within the political arena.  I’m aware of how crazy politics has gotten over the years and they do get some things right, but it just wasn’t engaging enough for me.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Prior to filming, Armando Iannucci gained access to the US Department of State by flashing a simple photo ID to a security guard and saying “BBC. I’m here for the 12:30.” He then spent a few hours walking around taking pictures for his set designers. The meeting in which General Miller is stood up by Linton Barwick was also scheduled for 12:30. (From IMDB)

Rating – BAFTA Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

One thought on “In the Loop (2009)

  1. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2009 |

Let me Know what you think!!

