Kapo (1960)


“Your mother won’t like me, I’m not a good girl” – Edith

Number of Times Seen – 1 (20 Aug 2018)

Brief Synopsis – A young Jewish girl in a concentration camp must find a way to survive after she is chosen to be a guard for the Nazis and watch over the other inmates.

My Take on it – This is a film that I came across not too long ago and was shocked that despite being a fan of Holocaust films, I’d never even heard of this one before.

Perhaps it has to do with the fact that it’s in Italian and my dislike for foreign language films made me miss this.

Boy am I glad that I finally found it.

This is an amazing story that feels so personal and intimate and is actually shot that way in order for us to get a better understanding of everything that is happening the whole time.

The story and plot are quite simple yet due to the time and place of the story, things feel much more powerful because of the situation.

We get to see the internal struggles of the characters with various dilemmas and feel their anguish as they need to make difficult decisions that could haunt them for a long time afterwards.

This is a film that is worthy of being a part of the list of the best films depicting stories of the Holocaust and manages to leave a powerful imprint even days after watching it because of the way that things are presented throughout.

I can definitely understand how this can be the favorite film of its director (see Trivia below) even if he also made some other powerful films in his career.

Bottom Line – Great story that is filmed in such a personal way that it’s so hard not to care about the characters and everything that happens to them. The story is a simple one yet extremely powerful due to where and when it takes place. The internal dilemmas of the characters are shown really well and this is truly a film that deserves a place along with some of the very best films made about the Holocaust. Highly Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Gillo Pontecorvo’s favorite of his own movies. (From IMDB)

Rating – Oscar Worthy (9/10)

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

2 thoughts on “Kapo (1960)

  1. Pingback: MovieRob Monthly Roundup – August 2018 |

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1960 |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.