Genre Guesstimation – Wonder Woman ’84 (2020) – Encore Review


The idea behind this feature (Genre Guesstimation) is for me to watch a bunch of new movies (or ones that I haven’t seen many times) from the chosen monthly GG genre in order to expand my knowledge of movies within that particular genre.

This month’s genre has been chosen by Darren of Movie Reviews 101 and we will be reviewing our favorite Female Directed Movies.

Please get me your submissions by the 25th of June by sending them to femaledirectors@movierob.net

Try to think out of the box!

Let’s see if I felt that this movie would be worthy of being in the company of my others favorite movies in the genre of Female Directed Movies…

“My life hasn’t been what you think it has. We all have our struggles.” – Diana Prince

Number of Times Seen – Twice (27 Jan 2021 and 11 Jun 2024)

Link to original reviewHere

Brief Synopsis – Wonder Woman must stop a businessman who has acquired a powerful artifact that grants every person who touches it, one wish; which has dire consequences.

My Take on it – Mediocre sequel that tries too hard to be more poignant in its message. The film tries to overuse action scenes in order to cover up the very problematic plot which has far too many holes in it. The cats is great and Gal Gadot once again shows how great she can be in this role. The part of the story involving Kirsten Wiig feels a bit tacked on at certain moments and doesn’t flow well within the overall storyline. Pedro Pascal as Max Lord is also a great choice and he makes the viewer believe the slimy businessman character that he plays who will do all he can to get his way. Great 80’s nostalgia appears throughout, but with a story like this one, it doesn’t surprise me that they haven’t yet made another sequel in the Wonder Woman DCU cannon.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – As first reported by Variety, actress Gal Gadot was paid $10 million for this film (which she also produces) – 33 times more than what she made on the first film, Wonder Woman (2017) ($300,000). (From IMDB)

Genre Grandeur Worthy? – Nope. Patty Jenkins once again shows ‘girl power’ with her work here, but the story itself is far from being great.

Rating – BAFTA Worthy (6/10) (slight upgrade from original review)

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

 

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.