Oz the Great and Powerful (2013)


index“Great. Let’s go kill ourselves a witch!” – China Girl

Number of Times Seen – 1 (26 May 2013)

Brief Synopsis – The epic story of how the Wizard came to the Land of Oz

My Take on it – I have been interested in seeing this for month, just never had the chance. I have always been fascinated with the myth of the and of Oz (movies, books, cartoons, etc) and expected thins to be similar to Wicked, but I was pleasantly surprised that it wasn’t.

They made a movie about the origins of a (main) character while trying to explain all of it within the context of the 1939 story.

I don’t want to give too much away, but this movie was done very well.

They make many references to characters and events that we all know and love, without stating the obvious.

James Franco is wondrous as the charlatan pretending to be the Wizard (this isn’t a spoiler since anyone who knows the story, should know this. sorry if I spoiled something) and Mina Kunis, Michelle Williams and Rachel Weisz are great as the 3 witches of the Land of Oz.

Special effects are done and explained in a way that the technology in the 1939 movie seem to be plausible.

I heard that a sequel has been announced and I look forward to seeing it too.

Bottom Line – Fun movie. If you know the story of Dorothy’s journey, you will love all the little references. Recommended

Rating – Oscar Worthy

9 thoughts on “Oz the Great and Powerful (2013)

  1. Glad you got the chance to see it and enjoyed, clearly you liked it way more than I did if you thought it was Oscar worthy though, one of my biggest issues with it was that I hated Franco in it which distracted me throughout. Glad you had a great time watching though, as a whole I did too in spite of disliking him.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Oz, the Great and Powerful | She Reviews Everything

  3. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z | MovieRob

  4. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2013 |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.