Genre Guesstimation – Sphere (1998)


The idea behind this feature (Genre Guesstimation) is for me to watch a bunch of new movies (or ones that I haven’t seen many times) from the chosen monthly GG genre in order to expand my knowledge of movies within that particular genre.

This month’s Genre has been chosen by Natasha of Life of This City Girl

We will be reviewing our favorite Sci-Fi Movies.

Please get me your submissions by the 25th of January by sending them to scifinatasha@movierob.net

Try to think out of the box!

Great choice Natasha!

Let’s see if I felt that this movie would be worthy of being in the company of my others favorite movies in the genre of Sci-Fi Films…

sphere“So that’s what the little green men are saying now? “Take me to your therapist”? ” – Harry

Number of Times Seen – 2 (video in ’99 and 6 Jan 2016)

Brief Synopsis – A group of scientists are sent to the bottom of the ocean to investigate a strange vessel.

My Take on it – I recall sering this once years ago but couldn’t recall at all what it was about or even if it was any good.

It’s too bad my memory failed me this time because it could have saved me two hours of my day.

This movie was so uninteresting to watch and most of it makes so little sense.

The one good thing here was seeing Dustin Hoffman, Samuel L. Jackson, Sharon Stone, Peter Coyote and Liev Shrieber all together.

Unfortunately, with this script even this talented cast couldn’t help at all.

I’ve never read the book this was based on but I really hope that it is better and makes more sense than this was.

Bottom Line – Despite usually liking Crichton’s books, this one was a complete mess and totally incoherent. Star studded cast couldn’t help at all. Perhaps the book makes more sense.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Samuel L. Jackson would work on the film during the week and then move onto Quentin Tarantino’s Jackie Brown (1997) at weekends.  (From IMDB)

Genre Grandeur Worthy? – Not even close. Premise is quite silly and filled with holes. Perhaps the book makes more sense.

Rating – Razzie Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

4 thoughts on “Genre Guesstimation – Sphere (1998)

  1. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1998 |

  2. Pingback: Genre Grandeur January Finale – The Martian (2015) – Life of This City Girl |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.