Did They Get it Right? – Best Original Song – Oscars 1998


DTGIR 1998

This year is yet another great edition to the songs of the movies from the 90’s.

I enjoy 4 of the 5 songs here and as you’ll see later on, I found a bunch of other options that could have been included.

I’m a huge fan of The Prince of Egypt, so my list is filled with more selections from that soundtrack among others

Here are the five nominees: (Winner in Bold)

  • “I Don’t Want to Miss a Thing” – Armageddon • Music and Lyrics: Diane Warren

  • “The Prayer” – Quest for Camelot • Music: Carole Bayer Sager and David Foster • Lyrics by Carole Bayer Sager, David Foster, Tony Renis (Italian translation), and Alberto Testa (Italian translation)

  • “A Soft Place to Fall” – The Horse Whisperer • Music and Lyrics: Allison Moorer and Gwil Owen

  • “That’ll Do” – Babe: Pig in the City • Music and Lyrics: Randy Newman

  • “When You Believe” – The Prince of Egypt – Music and Lyrics: Stephen Schwartz

Song (s) that I think should have been included in the mix: (Not sure if all really are eligible according to Oscar standards…)

  • Uninvited – Alannis Morisette (City of Angels)

  • Can’t Hardly Wait – Paul Westerberg (Can’t Hardly Wait)

  • Why Can’t We Be Friends – (Lethal Weapon 4)

  • Deliver Us – Ofra Haza (Prince of Egypt)

  • All I Ever Wanted – Amick Byram (Prince of Egypt)

  • I Will Get There – Boys II Men (Prince of Egypt)

  • Through Heaven’s Eyes – K-Ci & Jojo (Prince of Egypt)

  • Humanity – Boys II Men (Prince of Egypt)

  • Turn Back Time – Aqua (Sliding Doors)

 

My Rankings:

Songs

  • 5. – A Soft Place to Fall
  • 4. – That’ll Do
  • 3. – I Don’t Wanna Miss A Thing
  • 2. – The Prayer
  • 1. – When You Believe

Movies

  • 5. – The Horse Whisperer
  • 4. – Quest For Camelot
  • 3. – Babe
  • 2. – Armageddon
  • 1. – Prince of Egypt

Do I agree with the Oscar winner? – Most definitely, When You Believe is such an amazing and deserving song of this award!

Let me know what you think about these songs!

2 thoughts on “Did They Get it Right? – Best Original Song – Oscars 1998

  1. Wow this was a strong year. I agree with your ranking of the songs. You really think Horse Whisperer is worse than Quest for Camelot. Quest is such a dud IMO

    Liked by 1 person

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.