Fanboys (2009)


SI“You guys both got to stop perpetuating this myth that Boba Fett is some kind of bad-ass. All right? He has a jet pack. So did the Rocketeer. Really cool. When it comes time for battle, the man’s Michael Bay – all style, no substance.” – Windows

Number of Times Seen – 2 (25 May 2009 and 30 May 2016)

Brief Synopsis – A group of friends who are Star Wars fanatics take a road trip to infiltrate Skywalker Ranch to try and watch a copy of The Phantom Menace before it comes out.

My Take on it – As a Star Wars fan for as long as I can recall, I have loved anything related to the films and this movie really hits most of it all right on the spot.

As a fan, I loved watching these characters and their situations because so much felt familiar to me.

There are a plethora of references to the entire Star Wars series and they were very fun to try and catch.  The dialogue and action of the movie also constantly reference the series and, again, as a fan it was a real delight to watch the references fly by.

I was actually shocked to see that this film was written by one of my recent favorite writers, Ernest Cline who is an expert on 70’s and 80’s pop culture references in his works.

I love both of his books Ready Player One and Armada (I’m currently half way through) and can’t wait for his next endeavor.

His writing style makes the story so personal for me and for fans of the 70’s and 80’s pop culture.

Bottom Line – Definitely a great movie for fans of the Star Wars series. Lots and lots of references to the movies both in dialogue and action. Written by one of my new favorite writers Ernest Cline who makes it so personal for all of us fans. Highly Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – During the fight between our heroes and the Star Trek (1966) fans at the dedication of the Captain James T. Kirk statue, Spock’s ears are ripped off. This is reminiscent of the 1976 Saturday Night Live (1975) skit titled “The Last Voyage of the Starship Enterprise” where Spock’s (played by Chevy Chase) ears are removed as Spock calls out, “My ears!”, as part of the dismantling of the Star Trek (1966) set and series cancellation. (From IMDB)

Rating – Oscar Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

8 thoughts on “Fanboys (2009)

  1. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2009 |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.