Movies From the Hat V #39 – Connor’s Pick – Charlotte’s Web (2006)


This is my 2988th Review

Thanks to Connor of ConMan at the Movies for this recommendation.

 

“Oh, Wilbur… don’t you know what you’ve already done? You made me your friend and in doing so, you made a spider beautiful to everyone in that barn. ” – Charlotte

Number of Times Seen – 1 (26 Mar 2017)

Brief Synopsis – A young girl and a wise spider do their best to save a young pig from being slaughtered.

My Take on it – As a kid, I recall reading the book this film is adapted from numerous times ad I was always quite fond of it.

After recently watching the animated version of this story from 1973, I was a bit disappointed that my expectations weren’t even close to being met with the way it was presented.

This time, they do a much better job capturing the emotional connections between the characters and we get a stronger feeling for everything they say or do.

I’m not the biggest fan of the way they use effects to make it seem that animals are talking and I always find it a bit jarring watching their lips move to the beat of the voice chosen to represent that particular animal

Despite my personal feelings about them, the special effects are amazing from a technical standpoint because it really seems as if the animals are really conversing amongst themselves.

The voice and real life cast do a wonderful job capturing most of the magic of the book.  They are all perfectly chosen and even add a extra level of enjoyment to this film.

Bottom Line – This adaptation does a much better job than the cartoon one in portraying the emotional connections between the characters. Its still a bit jarring watch the effects of the animals speaking but it inevitably gets the job done regardless. The voice and real life cast are both superbly chosen and makes this film even more fun to watch. Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – There were 47 Wilburs on set because the piglets grew up so fast. Also, each one was taught only one “trick”, like to stare up or to walk a certain distance. (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

2 thoughts on “Movies From the Hat V #39 – Connor’s Pick – Charlotte’s Web (2006)

  1. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2006 |

  2. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.