Gerald’s Game (2017)


“Isn’t this why we came up here, to spice things up and try and push the boundaries.” Gerald

Number of Times Seen – 1 (1 Oct 2017)

Brief Synopsis – This go very wrong for a couple when they go away to a secluded cabin in order to find a way to spice up their marriage.

My Take on it – Despite not being a fan of the horror genre, I have been a HUGE fan of Stephen King for over thirty years.

I have read lots of his books and have seen many of his film adaptations.

I tend to like his less supernatural stuff more but I really enjoy it when he mixes things up between a great ‘normal’ story which dabbles in supernatural stuff.

He is able to create such deep and unique characters that usually don’t resonate as well on screen as they do on paper.

I have heard about this story years ago but never got around to reading it.

When I heard it was being adapted for the screen, I was quite curious how they would be able to make an engaging film from such a premise.

I really shouldnt have worried.

They do an amazing job keeping us on the edge of our seats despite having almost the entire film take place in one room.

This is largely due to the amazing performances of Bruce Greenwood and Carla Gugino who help keep this dialogue driven story engaging and entertaining the entire time.

The way that this film chooses to visualize thoughts works really well especially since they are able to constantly keep us on our toes in trying to decipher what is real or imaginary.

The discussions and dialogue between the characters works so well that it’s easy to forget that this all virtually takes place in one room.

After having seen this, I’m now quite interested in reading the book to see how King weaves his way around such a great dynamic.

This is the kind of story that could only come from the mind of King and it really shows how great a writer he is.

Bottom Line – Another great King adaptation to the screen. The ways used here to visualize thoughts works extremely well because we aren’t always 100% sure as to what is real or imaginary. Greenwood and Gugino are both amazing here because this is a very dialogue driven story and their discussions and conversations make up for the lack of numerous settings. I now must read this book because it is truly such an engaging story that only could come from the mind of King.  Highly Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – When Jessie talks about the Moonlight Man’s Bag of Bones, this is a likely reference to Stephen King’s novel of the same name. (From IMDB)

Rating – Oscar Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

13 thoughts on “Gerald’s Game (2017)

  1. Thanks for the review Rob. Now you’ve made me curious. I’ve owned the novel for many years – but have never read it. In general, I’m a King fan – but for me – the majority of films/TV shows made from his work have come up short. He himself has said that he’s not always the best at endings. And after toughing out the 2nd iteration of The Mist over the summer (dreadful), I’m always hesitant. But I like Greenwood, have a long-standing crush on Gugino – so with your “Oscar worthy” review – I’ll have a watch.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. True. Ya got me. Skipping The Mist saved you about 10 hours of misery (see what I did there? Although Misery was one of the best King adaptations IMO). I’ll get back to you after I’ve seen GG.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2017 |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.