Only You (1994)


“I can’t believe you’re gonna let a few little letters of the alphabet keep us apart. It is a detail! Just – look, just call me Damon, okay? It’ll be like a nickname.” – Peter

Number of Times Seen – at least twice (Video in the 90’s and 1 Apr 2018)

Brief Synopsis – A woman about to get married travels to Rome seeking a man who bear the name that a fortune teller told her would be her true love.

My Take on it – I recall seeing this film not long after it came out and video and enjoyed it which led me to hope that it would still be enjoyable after 24 years.

Unfortunately, this is truly a lackluster rom-com that just doesn’t work.

Marisa Tomei and Robert Downey Jr. are both great actors, but their characters have little to no chemistry here.

The fact that the plot goes in strange directions also doesn’t help to keep things interesting along the way.

These things actually make it feel even less believable than most Rom-com despite the fact that these kind of films always have a very predictable arc to them.

The characters are not very interesting to watch and I can’t say I cared much about what would happen to them along the way.

The one interesting thing about this film is the way that they re-enact the famous scene from Roman Holiday (1953) with Peck and Hepburn.

There are so many much better Rom-com’s out there and this is far from being anywhere near even the middle of the pack.

Bottom Line – Quite a lackluster rom-com.  Tomei and Downey Jr. have little chemistry together and the plot goes in very strange directions that border on the believable.  I didn’t care for the characters at all and it didn’t matter much what would happen in the end even if rom-com’s like this are so predictable.  The scene from Roman Holiday (1953) that they reenact is fun to watch tho. (see Trivia below)

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Peter (Robert Downey, Jr.) and Faith (Marisa Tomei) reenact the infamous Mouth of Truth scene made famous by Gregory Peck’s prank on Audrey Hepburn in Roman Holiday (1953), while at the Bocca della Verità in Italy. (From IMDB)

Rating – BAFTA Worthy (5/10)

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

One thought on “Only You (1994)

  1. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1994 |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.