G.I. Joe: Resolute (2009)


“And this is how I win the world. This juncture, of course, is usually where the wheels come off. But not this time! Cutting the traitor Major Bludd’s heart in half right in front of you, right here in this room, should have gotten the point across. It suited me once to appear weak and cowardly, because it motivated you people to *think*. But today… is a new day. There will be no move to take over my command. There will be no mistakes. There will be none of your CRAP! NONE OF IT! Work with me, and I will give you the world in less than 24 hours. Work against me, and I will GUT you like a fish… right here.” – Cobra Commander

Number of Times Seen – 1 (2 May 2018)

Brief Synopsis – After the terrorist organization Cobra threatens the world with a new plan for domination, its up to the Elite soldiers of G.I. Joe to try and stop them.

My Take on it – For as long as I can recall, I have been a fan of G.I. Joe.

As a kid, I collected all of the comic books and action figures and watched all of the cartoons about this elite team of soldiers.

I’ve seen both of the live action films and as an adult, I wasn’t so impressed with what they did to my favorite group of characters.

I recently bumped into a friend that I haven’t seen for a long time and since we are both comic book and super hero fans, the conversation got around to the most realistic film adaptations whether they be live action or animated and he suggested that I watch this adaptation.

It is by far the best story and adaptation of any of the adaptations of GI Joe that Ive seen largely due to the realistic approach to it all.

They did away with much of the factors that made the comic books and cartoon episodes of the 80’s laughable to watch.

They no longer had the “Joes” wear outrageous costumes to show their specialties and instead only used token apparel to help make those identifications a bit easier.

They also took away any kind of immunity the characters always had from bullets, bombs and other weapons and actually had characters get wounded or even killed while doing their duty.

Cobra is also no longer a cartoonish band of villains and they let them be a bit more developed in all that they do which also helps with the realism of it all.

Bottom Line – Probably the very best story of G.I. Joe in all of its incarnations.  This film mostly works because it doesn’t feel like a comic book story but rather something much more realistic in its plot and the way things are handled.  I liked the way that the characters are not immune to getting wounded or even killed while on their missions and that helps make this feel more believable. The idea to tone down the cartoonish costumes of the characters also works really well because it isn’t as laughable as the comic book and cartoons were from that perspective. Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – The series writer Warren Ellis had no prior knowledge of G.I. Joe, which he claims is why producer Sam Register brought him on board: “It went like this: Sam Register phoned me up and said ‘We’d really like you to write a G.I. JOE animation, at a PG-13 rating, aimed at an older viewer.’ I said ‘I’ve never seen a G.I. JOE cartoon in my life. The closest I got to a G.I. JOE comic was drinking with Larry Hama. I’ve never even seen a G.I. JOE; couldn’t tell you what they look like if you paid me. I know nothing about G.I. JOE. It is meaningless in my world.’ ‘Excellent,’ Sam said, ‘just the guy we need.’ It was hard not to notice, at this point, that Sam Register is crazier than a sh*thouse rat. Therefore I decided to take the job.” (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy (8/10)

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

2 thoughts on “G.I. Joe: Resolute (2009)

  1. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2009 |

  2. Pingback: MovieRob’s Monthly Roundup – May 2018 |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.